SCORUM: Where everyone is a sports pundit. PART 2

in #utopian-io6 years ago

The results from the fixtures in the EPL (English premier league) this week was unpredictable.
The major talking points from this week's fixtures came from the league's big six(6) teams. We were thrilled with unexpected results. But the fixture that had the most shocking effect on fans all over the world, was the match between Bournemouth and Chelsea.
Bournemouth played host to Chelsea and the scoreline was a whopping 4 nil win. Manchester city also saw defeat away to Newcastle United. Liverpool saw out a draw with Leicester City.
The only teams in the league's big six (6) that triumphed was Arsenal and Tottenham.

Being a fan of Chelsea football club, it was hard for me to sleep after the game was over. I couldn't even rant on social media.

Aside from the EPL shocker, we received another shocker in the Italian league. We saw Juventus, a team that hosts one of the best players in the world lose woefully to an average team.

Well, shockers like this are what we expect in sports, and in soccer precisely.

Last week, I began a series about a blogging platform where sports is a major topic.

There are quite a handful of sports blogging platforms, but they are not open for public use. But, adventure led me to discover a sports blogging platform everyone can use.

The first article I published in the series covered some basic points about the platform. I did a general overview of the platform.

In that article, I explained how sports has become a lucrative business. Virtually everything that's connected to sports is lucrative. From kits designers, media coverage, sports journalists, sports writers, sports betting agencies, etc.
My focus was on sports writers or bloggers.

My discussion in that article was not so wide. As I said, it was just a general overview of the project.

These were the talking points in that article;

  • What is Scorum?
  • How the platform works
  • My first impression
  • Summary.

The point that was discussed intensively in that article was; how the platform works.

My discussions so far have been about the blogging platform, which is one of the major cores of the project.
Recall that I said the project is made up of four (4) core platforms.

The four cores are;

  • Sports blogging platform
  • Commission-free betting exchange
  • Zero fee fantasy sports platform
  • Advertising system.

In this article, I will be reviewing the features of the sports blogging platform. While reviewing these features, I will also be sharing my opinions about them. That is, what I love about it or what I don't.

I hope you have a wonderful read!

Review of Scorum's sports blogging platform.


source

In this section, I will be reviewing the features of scorum's blogging platform. Recall that in my previous article, I said Scorum was built almost like steemit. The implication of this is that they share almost the same features.
The most noticeable difference you will find between Scorum and Steemit is the user interface.
At first glance, you will think Scorum is just a sports blog like BBC sports, but it's not.

The first feature I will be reviewing is Scorum's user interface (UI).

Scorum's User Interface (UI) review.

In my last article, I talked about how I was greatly impressed by the platform's UI.

The display of the website looks really refreshing. The first time I accessed the platform, I was lost in the euphoria of the platform's beauty.

I was impressed with the style of the feeds page. The articles on the page were displayed in a grid format. This gives prominence to the articles cover image. Why this is cool is that, aside from article titles, cover images can influence a reader's interest in the article.

Unfortunately, there is no night mode, which is a big let down for me. Night mode mixed with the on-screen content would have been amazing. The absence of night mode, however, is not a deal breaker for me. But, I would have loved it.

Overall, the user interface is great. It was refreshing browsing through contents on the feeds.

Scorum's functionalities.

In the previous article, I briefly explained how the platform worked. It was an overview of the platform's operations. I've said this several times, and I will repeat again. Scorum works almost like steemit. So you would expect that their functions are quite similar.

In this segment, I will be talking about some major features and functions on the blogging website.

This should seem like an easy task, but I'm finding it quite difficult to begin the review.

To begin the review, I will start with the sports forum that is available on scorum.

Sports forum.

Honestly, I don't know why I'm calling it a forum, but, that was the only word I could think of.

We have already established the fact that Scorum is a sports blogging platform. But, which sports are available to write about or discuss on Scorum.

There are quite a handful of sports to talk about on Scorum. There are no restrictions on what kind of sports can be discussed. But, on the website, a handful of some sports are outlined. This means you can constrain your feeds to a particular sport.

At first glance, you will see a horizontal list of these sports topics. There are eleven of them to be precise. When you click on more, you will find other sports listed there. I didn't count them but, it was quite a handful.

Soccer is the most prominent sport in the world, so you can guess that it's the most active and prominent forum on Scorum.

Honestly, until I checked out Scorum, I didn't know that there are lots of sports out there. I had never heard of any sport called "Kabaddi" before. My little time on Scorum has been a little bit educative.

User profile page.

Every user has his/her own user profile page on Scorum. Just like steemit, on this page, you see your own publications.
From this page, you can also set edit your profile and cover image.

On the user profile page, posts are displayed just like the way they are on steemit. These articles are displayed in vertical format and you'd have to engage in endless scrolling to get to the last article on a profile. A grid view would have been better, or, it could have been paged. This is something I have wished to see on Steemit, but I don't think it will happen.

Wallet

The wallet is a major component of the scorum platform. This is where you can make transactions. Either to buy, sell, or, convert your scorum coin to scorum power and vice-versa.
The weird thing about this wallet though, is that it has its own dedicated webpage. At first, I didn't get why there had to be a separate webpage for the wallet. But, after few thoughts and reasoning, I realized probably it was for security. I'm not entirely sure about that though. The first time I accessed my wallet, I had to input my private key and create an access code. The access code was required anytime I accessed my wallet.

Maybe it will be required when I want to make a transaction. I can't say for sure though, because I haven't earned any tradeable token.
That being said, I don't think it makes any difference having a separate webpage for a user's wallet. But if that's how the project owners planned it, it's all good.

Post Editor.

Well, it will be pointless if the platform didn't have a post editor. I mean, how else would a user create and publish an article?

The post editor on Scorum was confusing for me at first. I was expecting that markdown text styling would be supported. Well, it is but, I didn't know at first. It was until I checked out the writing guide before I knew I could use markdown.

It would have been great if those shortcuts were available at first glance. Aside from the irregular method of using markdown, I was quite displeased by the fact that post couldn't be previewed. The post editor is a straightway editor. Being already used to post preview on Steemit and other steem front ends, not having it here was weird.

These are the features of Scorum's blogging platform that I had talking points about.

There are other functionalities or features of the platform which the platform cannot do without.

They are;

  • Voting(Upvote or Downvote).
  • Flag.
  • Credits (Scorum power and Voting power).
  • Post sharing to other social media.

From these listed features and functions, you can see the huge similarity between Scorum and Steemit.
But, the project owner(s) made a strong claim about why Scorum is better than it's competitors which in this case is steemit.

Here is the statement by the project owner(s);

Similar websites (Steemit, Golos) are not concentrated on a certain community, they do not have a common topic. Scorum is designed specifically for sports content and would like to form a community united by common interests, which will be great for project's development as well as sports community itself.

Scorum offers not only a blogging platform, but also additional sports services (commission free betting exchange, fantasy sports platform, and stats centres) and is supported by athletes and fan-clubs from all over the world who will also have their blogs there. With the help of our stats center, sports writers will have unique instruments for visualization to create the best content in the market.

In contrast with current social media platforms, Scorum has created a completely transparent reward and economic structure. All users will be able to access the transaction history of the blockchain and the community oversight as a whole will ensure that rewards and advertising income is distributed fairly according to the blockchain framework.

I dissected that statement and saw things from the perspective of the project owner(s).
But does the fact that Scorum is constrained to only one topic makes it superior to Steemit?
Truth be told, I got no answer. But if I'm not being biased, I will say I love the concept of both platforms(Scorum and Steemit), but I love the fact that Steemit is not constrained to a particular topic. This creates an avenue for everyone to be a part of the platform and share what they can. No everyone likes sports, and for those that do, not all of them can write about it.

Summary.

In this post, I have been able to review some of the major features of Scorum's blogging platform. I had hoped there were more things to talk about but, that's all I could find.
The platform is still a little bit fresh to me, and I'm taking my time to properly understand the platform. The points I've shared so far are the ones I've experienced first hand. With more time spent on the platform, I will be able to fully grasp its concept.

Conclusively, I'm impressed by what I've seen so far. I noticed that you necessarily don't have to be a whale to succeed in the platform. Just creating original and quality content about your own analysis from any sport's fixture will earn you tangible rewards. I honestly can't wait to get started. I implore you to check out the platform too. Especially if you can talk about any sport.

In the next article, I will be reviewing the betting platform and maybe the fantasy football platform. Hopefully, there will be many talking points from the platform.

Links

Resources:

  • The content was created based on my own knowledge of the platform
  • The images used in this article are screenshots from my PC or mobile phone. Other images used, are properly sourced.

Series backlinks:

Scorum: WHERE EVERYONE IS A SPORTS PUNDIT. PART 1.

Github profile:

https://github.com/HarryHeights

Sort:  

Thank you for this contribution. This is another interesting part of this informative series about Scorum. Your post is comprehensive and well-illustrated with relevant graphic content.

Once again, you did a really good job on the content side. Your review includes useful information about the project, and even contains your personal views and knowledge. Furthermore, you provided an interesting comparison with Steemit, and it goes without saying that I enjoyed reading your work.

That said, even though this is a very nice contribution, there were issues of proofreading. I would advise checking your future texts more thoroughly in order to enhance the readability of your posts. I look forward to your next cotnribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hi, @harry-heightz!

You just got a 9.41% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 167 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey, @harry-heightz!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31