Steemy EP. 48: How to use your Private Steem Keys and Keep them Safe While Logging into Utopian.io (and other apps)

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Steemy EP. 48: How to use your Private Steem Keys and Keep them Safe While Logging into Utopian.io (and other apps)


I have moved all my content away from the now centralized and controlled Steem blockchain to the decentralized Hive blockchain.

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Nice work showing the steemconnect screen in detail and explaining what happens when you authorize the change!

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you. It was a welcome request from you since I was just looking for a topic. :)

Adding posting authority requires private active key, but creating steemconnect v2 account requires only private posting key, if you want keep your active key only for yourself you can add posting auth manually like i described it in post

Cool, thx for the information. I wasn't aware you have so much access over SteemConnect. Another great way to stay safe!

Just a word to thank you for this video!
I was just trying to explore utopian.io, and was stuck at this steemconnect page, not willing to give an important key to something I did not understand. Now I do, and I can see how I can safely travel whole new world built on the Steem blockchain.

I totally understand your hesitation. One has to be very careful with these things. Always check the domain name when you enter the keys. Watch out for phishing links in comments on Steemit saying something like "This person stole your content" and then there is a proper looking link which is leading to a page that looks like the original but isn't.

Using SteemConnect though is a very good and secure thing. I use it every day.

Very informative .. good Tutorial @flauwy

Hey @flauwy I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!;)
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75