1UP Community Levels, User Authority & The Ten Starting Communities

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: 1UP Community Levels, User Authority & The Ten Starting Communities


I have moved all my content away from the now centralized and controlled Steem blockchain to the decentralized Hive blockchain.

Sort:  

Thank you for this update. 1UP is very intriguing to me, and I was happy to read about these plans for the future. It is, of course, great to know Utopian is part of those plans. It is certainly an interesting way to use the upcoming SMTs, and I look forward to seeing this vision come to fruition.

I do, however, have some comments regarding style, grammar, and proofreading. I will cite and examine a couple examples:

  • "To create a system that is able to direct high upvotes to a few collectively selected posts we have to create efficient hurdles for potential abuse and allow every movement to earn a place for themselves without being overrun by them either" is a very long sentence, unbroken by commas. It also has other issues. Here's what I would do with it: "To create a system that is able to direct high upvotes to a few, collectively selected posts, we have to create efficient hurdles for potential abuse." With a couple of commas and a period, this is a fine sentence. I would take the second half, and make it a separate sentence: "We must also allow every movement to earn a place for itself without being overrun by them." I added a bit at the start, and changed "themselves" to "itself." Once you specify "every movement," your talking in the singular, so you would use the singular "itself." "Them" is fine, because you are, after all, talking all the movements. "either" is redundant. I would also add that I am not sure "movement" is best word here, but you are free to choose your own nomenclature.

  • "Instead of creating a inhouse solution we will use the API of the brand new @userauthority that acts like an alternative reputation system based on a more hivemind formula itself." This sentence could also use the addition of commas. Commas are awesome. So: "Instead of creating an in-house solution, we will use..." works. Note that I replaced "a" with "an" before "in-house," because "in-house" starts with a vowel sound. I also replaced "inhouse" with "in-house," because that is the correct term. On to the rest of the sentence. If you want it to all be once sentence, that's okay - though I would split it - but it does need reworking. "the API of the brand new @userauthority, that acts like an alternative reputation system based on a hivemind formula." This is, as far as I understand the sentence, the intended statement. You used the word "more" without stating more than what. And the word "itself" seems redundant.

I often recommend Hemingway for help seeing some of style and grammar issues with a post. In this case, I would also recommend reading the post aloud. When you find yourself pausing in a sentence, or realize you should be pausing, it's probably a good place for a comma.

I look forward to seeing more contributions from you, and following 1UP progression.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 6 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Wow, what an amazing review. Thank you for all the feedback. I will have a look at Hemingway. As a German I am used to many commas but in English not so much.

Hey @flauwy
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hi @flauwy! We are @steem-ua, a new Steem dApp, computing UserAuthority for all accounts on Steem. We are currently in test mode upvoting quality Utopian-io contributions! Nice work!

As an art curator this tool will allow me to reward properly some good artist, I can't wait to see this proyect working as it fits perfectly with my initial goals.

I'm using the bot of minnowsupport for this purpose now, but I think that this could be a way better formula to perform what i've been looking for.

Every information you're giving to us confirms me what I'been thinking of this initiative, it's way too interesting to be outside of this.

Thank you, I hope that 1UP will bring value to you.

exelent Flauwy !! what a great tool !! i really like the proyect !!

Yeah, you can build a surfing community for example. :)

I see you are really into this. You're not joking! You will bring this to live and I enjoy seeing your passion :) Not only that, it​ serves the community. I appreciate that :)

Hello flauwy!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54