You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Enhancing Steem's 'Proof of Stake' Model With A Process For Expiry/Renewal Of Witness Votes

in #utopian-io7 years ago

I love this idea! Removing "Stale" votes through "re-votes" is brilliant.

I didn't read the full context for this idea, but to make community members' lives slightly easier, I have the following suggestion:

When this process is rolled out, each account should have a reference guide regarding which witnesses they had voted for previously, and the last date when that witness was active on the community. Also, if there is a way to make the GUI provide users with the ability to use a "check box" method to "confirm all selected votes", that would be helpful.

I can mock-up a simple GUI interface if that sounds interesting to you. I'm not sure about how simple the coding-side would be, but the look and feel would be straightforward.

Sort:  

Also, similar to a standard password update term, I'd say starting at 90 days (13 weeks / 3 months) is probably OK, although 180 days (26 weeks / 6 months) would probably be a more widely accepted term.

Yes, those are both good ideas, thanks. I am intending to post another idea to utopian.io regarding the UI of the voting page, since it is too simplistic at present and confuses new users too. If you want to collaborate on that, I am open to it.

I will try to remember to share my thoughts on what a useful voting page might look like .. depending on how much time I have (and the timeline in which you'd want to see it), it may be a very simplistic free-hand drawing, or something more "pretty" and digitally designed :)

I don't think that I can respectfully dedicate enough time to collaborate with you in the full sense of the word, but I would be happy to provide some input that you're welcome to use or ignore, free of charge :-p

Sure ok, no problem - thanks. I will come back to this tomorrow and write up an issue for Github, if you have anything for it tomorrow, then I will look to include it.

There can be a checkbox to just allow the user to re-new his/her votes for the people they voted for previously, although the downside to that is that some users wont review who they voted for previously and could end up renewing their vote for an inactive witness - I admit we can all be lazy sometimes.

Yeah, I agree there should be a "renew all" vote button, but with some additional information associated with each witness (such as their last activity date), to give those "lazy" users a quick reference about when their voted witnesses last did something on Steemit/for the community.

That way the responsibility is still on the voter, but they can be slightly more informed when they're too busy to take a deeper look at what their voted-witnesses are actually doing for the community. The idea of the additional information is to discourage a "blind" renew vote, and to add some accountability to the voter, as well as the witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39