You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Organizing Tips For Language Moderators (Utopian Translations Category)

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This is an excellent post. The writing is clear, the tips are useful, and the thought behind the methods described is solid and clearly born of experience.

Having been a part of group translation projects, I would say it can work, but only under specific circumstances. For instance, if the project can be divided into discreet parts that don't need to be uniform for whatever reason. Generally speaking, I agree with your attitude.

I would ask why you use spreadsheets, and not any of the various task management tools available such as OpenProject. Or a multipurpose tool such as Airtable (which I like to call "Excel designed for people).

Those are quibbles. This was one of my favorite posts in the #iamutopian initiative, and not just because translation is near and dear to my heart.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thank you @didic for your kind comment!

About the group translations, yes, it can work if the case is what you describe (we did it with the Byteball Wiki project, but it was shared between two people only, so it was easy to follow their choice of words).

We use spreadsheets for two reasons:
a) because we were asked to make our weekly report to our Community Moderator that way, so it was easier to keep the same formatting more or less in the team spreadsheet - plus, they're easy to share within the group
and
b) it is my first time managing a team, so I am not familiar with such tools and haven't tried them to see what will suit my needs. In real life my desk is full of post-it notes and my hands often have memos for tattoos.
Thanks for the recommendations, I have to check them out during the weekend!

I am really happy that you liked it! It feels very rewarding reading!

Have a good day! 😊

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 33 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69