You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Time to Shine with Utopian.io

in #utopian-io6 years ago

This is a very good post. And as a Utopian mod, it is one that is personally inspiring to me. I'm glad to see the specific connections made to Steemplus and Steeditor, as I use both and both are fantastic.

But you know me, so you may well guess what comes next: I had issues with style and grammar. I'm going to cite some examples.

  • "one year since the platform and idea of nurturing open source enthusiasts have come to life" should be "one year since the platform and idea of nurturing open source enthusiasts came to life." Coming to life is a single event, not an ongoing one.

  • "You are free in sharing" should be "you are free to share."

  • "I believe that anyone can find his or her own place in here." Some may call this nitpicking, but the better, more inclusive - and more efficient - way to say it would be""I believe that anyone can find their own place in here."

  • "Utopian's goal is the collaboration and encouragement of contributors to open source projects." I'm not sure what this is supposed to say. Maybe "collaboration with and encouragement of"?

Despite these examples, your positive message is clear and awesome. I was very happy to read this post.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

That was really fast. Your notes are appreciated. I will edit the text with your corrections. It happens to me quite often that other people don't really understand what I try to express. However, it is too much for me to expand on what I already wrote.

His or her vs their: That is going to be always a mystery to me. I incline with "their" but I let a native speaker see the text so I left the suggested "his or her" in this case.

I am a very fast editor and writer.

Now to the his or her vs. their issue. The problem with "his or her" is that although it is certainly more inclusive than "his," which folks used to use as a default, it is still not entirely inclusive. It references only those who are firmly on one side or another of the gender binary. I have non-binary friends, and I know how much they appreciate not being excluded, and how hurt they are by being routinely excluded.

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 8 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57329.79
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67