You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to translate The Curious Expedition: An Easy Guide for Everyone

in #utopian-io6 years ago

I continue to be delighted by the variety of contributions we've been getting to the #iamutopian tag. Utopian has so many different aspects, and it's awesome to see.

This post, specifically, was a great contribution. Very specific and detailed, and an interesting read.

It did, however, suffer from some issues of style and grammar, which are particularly glaring in a post that discusses English grammar. I'll cite some examples.

  • "I rejoiced myself finding." I have to say, this was a bit difficult to parse, as "rejoiced myself" is not an expression. I think you meant something along the lines of "I rejoiced upon finding"?

  • "After a long conversation with @phgnomo on the Discord channel, checking a lot of translations and comments submitted by administrators and contributors of the game, and discussing proper ways to deal with different translation cases the best way possible, we came out with very precise and useful conclusions." This is a long sentence. Super long. So long. It desperately needs to be broken up and simplified for better readability. How about:

"I had a long conversation with @phgnomo on the Discord channel. We checked many translations and comments submitted by administrators and contributors to the game, and discussed the best ways to deal with different translation cases. We came out with some very precise and useful conclusions."

  • "We figured that many contributors share the doubts we had and there are no general guidelines or instructive material on how to approach the translation of the project." Nine times out of ten, you won't go wrong putting a comma before "and." This is not the tenth time. I would also mention that there were no guidelines. There obviously are some now. These are them.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thank you for your review, @didic!

So far this week you've reviewed 21 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Thanks a lot for the feedback!

As a translator, I'm used to adapt English grammar and idiomatic expressions to Spanish, but here I had issues doing the inverse process. I'll take your advice to improve my writing style.

It's really good to know that this information is valuable for the community and it is well received. If I get any update regarding this topic, I'll share it with you all!

In my day job, I translate from English to Hebrew, so these difficulties are well known to me and perfectly understandable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62904.98
ETH 3359.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46