We Need SteemMusic - Selling your music for Steem and SBD inside the Blockchain.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

We need SteemMusic - Selling your music for Steem and SBD inside the Blockchain.

image.png

source


Idea

My idea is to incorporate a Click To Buy button, into musicians posts, that will enable us to sell our music internally inside our own Steemit Blog and wallet. This will be in the form of a Buy It Now button or indeed similar in nature to the current Promote and Boost buttons, with an included direct downloadable file link inside the post directed to our wallets. Just to make it clear that, this will only be available to artists that create Original Music to avoid any confusion.


Proposal

I'd like someone to create a Standalone player for us musicians, my idea is like an artists Jukebox, where the artists back catalogue is constantly added to each time they upload a new music track. These tracks will then be stored automatically into their players each time they upload the Mp3 file along with their post via Dsound, Dtube or Dlive. Within the musicians post, will be their wallet link, a 'Click to Buy' button with a bespoke set price by the artist. This would be the easiest option for smooth digital download transactions. The listener/music fan can then buy the track directly with either Steem or SBD if they love what they hear - which is then paid directly to the artists Steemit wallet. When the artist creates a blog music post with DSound, Dtube or Dlive - they will have the option to upload the MP3 of the song too, which will be stored centrally within their wallet, so it is not compulsory to do so.


Mockups / Examples -

There are various digital download sites that have this feature already built into their platforms, which have been successfully enabling the artist to sell their music for the past 10 years or so. With the birth of Steemit and it's increasing off shoots, I believe this will be a great way for the artist to gain more revenue via Steem and Steem Backed Dollars.


As an example, here's a site I've recently been testing to see how it would work on Steemit.
It has a simplistic UI and would work really well on the Steemit platform.
SwiftDemand is a new token similar in nature to many other decentralized crypto-currencies.
I set the price at 150 Swift for each track and 600 Swift for the 5 track EP - that saves the consumer 150 Swift by choosing the complete EP.


Screenshot ( 6).png


In Practice/Personal Trial

Ok, this next part is not some shameless self marketing/promotion stunt to sell my own music! it is to merely demonstration the simplicity of the music buying process.
This is taken from my recent blog post, where I am now successfully receiving small donations of Steem and SBD for my EP. It is working and I now feel like it needs developing and moving forwards.


Check out my Blog Post Here
This gives you an idea of the work I put in just to add direct Dropbox links for each track.


You can download the tracks individually if you prefer. Please donate what you can to my Steemit Wallet This will enable me to carry on producing more material.
Thanks kindly.


Track 1 - Was It Right - Dropbox

Track 2 - Slowed By Notes Dropbox

Track 3 - Dragonfly - Dropbox

Track 4 - Lights - Dropbox

Track 5 - Never Grow Old - Dropbox


Benefits

Once I find someone to write the code for my idea and put it into practice on the platform, I feel that it will be of great benefit to us independent musicians on the Steemit blockchain.

So, what do you think fellow artists?

Thanks for reading my idea and please do not hesitate to contact me to discuss it further.

(c) 2018 Darren Claxton
@darrenclaxton



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

@atomcollector, @darrenclaxton, It might be interesting to have a "streeming" service also where a tiny amount of steem is allocated from the persons wallet everytime a track is played. In time there could be a mobile app for it.

Love that idea! Thanks for your contribution!
Cheers
Darren

I really like this ideas and I will definitely look in to it more for my upcoming releases!

Cheers bud!

Cheers @jonmagnusson
I need some backing and funding but I can make it work for us musicians!
In time, we can also spread it out to various other artists here.

Interesting ideas Darren!

It would even better if there was a generic marketplace where one could make anything digital (or maybe even physical) available for purchase. A bit like an eBay for Steemit.

You could have a content management system so things could be classified and options such as "automatically inform me of new releases" and the ability to subscribe with a monthly payment to receive all future releases (like BandCamp).


Add dsound tracks and DTube & YouTube videos, get more fans and earn $INDIE!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

That's my plan @atomcollector - Much like Bandcamp and other digital download sites. Physical special edition sales could also be incorporated.
I just hope no one steals my idea before it's even created!
Uploading via Utopian will hopefully secure it as a first idea.
Cheers mate
Darren

I'm not sure you would be able to copyright that idea Darren :P

The only thing I would say, playing Devil's advocate, is that downloads are on the decrease. As people's internet connections get faster more and more people are happy to just stream music and movies.

There is still a place for downloads for loyal fans though.

It's perfect Darren!
resteemed.jpg

Isn't it a great idea?
You can obviously buy my music for Steem already!

I am more interested from an artist's point of view ahahaha. Your work here has pioneering qualities and I feel really grateful for it Darren.

Thank you kindly!
Pioneering quality is a massive accolade but I'll take it!
I just need some support from the more technical computer minded steemian community to make it happen!
If anyone in authority is reading this post, please get I touch with me via Discord.
Same user name over there @darrenclaxton
Thank you so much for your support!

Hello @darrenclaxton , your project must have github license.Unfortunately i can't accept it for now.

  • The Github repository linked to a Utopian contribution post must contain the project’s source code, a readme and a license.

Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

I like this idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60932.34
ETH 3380.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50