You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finally. A Comments System That Rewards Its Authors. Steemcomments.js got an upgrade!

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Indeed a great project. I would use it on my blog. It always felt wrong to use Disqus, even worse to use Facebook comments.

These days there are more and more static websites, and they all need a comments system. It would be great to have a plugin for GastbyJS for example, as it is the most popular static site generator.

Cheers 👊​

Sort:  

Thanks Jo, It's getting there. I think I still need to explain it better. I see the vision for this project but I'm not sure it's obvious to non-developers how this or similar project could be used to "steemify" any content/site around the web.

Next I think I need to add a generator or API endpoint for creating unique ID's/comment threads so this can be used without needing an attachment to a current Steem post.

I might need to work on removing the jquery tangle 🙈 before the Gastby community will accept it haha. Agree though plugins for static sites are a great way forward, also always wanted something other than Disqus.

To explain the vision to non-developers will be hard. The Steem blockchain in itself is hard to sell to people because it is a total paradigm shift. Most people still think it is a pyramid scheme. But I would not worry too much about this. First, make those people happy who understand your vision. Like the ones on this thread. Then, when we are happy, take care of the rest of the world :) The static-site builder community would be glad to have a good comment system.​

I agree the next big step forward would be to allow the creation of threads without the requirement of them being attached to a Steemit post.

I might need to work on removing the jquery tangle 🙈 before the Gatsby community will accept it haha.

LOL​

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71