You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minecolonies & Structure Queues

in #utopian-io6 years ago

What's the problem with compressing the message, converting the compressed message into a byte array, then sending it piecemeal? After you have received all the pieces then you can uncompress on the server. It seems like that would be a reasonable approach.

Otherwise, what kinds of issues did you run in to?

Sort:  

Yeah, definitely, I could've compressed it at the beginning once and then cut it into pieces.
The reason I didn't do this is since I didn't want to break the code which was using this message beforehand.
The message didn't change, at all. Only the way I handle it on the serverside and the way I call it from client side.

(Calling it from server side or receiving on the client side didn't change)

I see, I guess to avoid breaking dependencies you could copy the message and then prepare it for sending, that way the whole operation is isolated from client-side processes (unless you are really constrained for computational time). Though the effort that entails is only justified by the strain the structure size imposes on bandwidth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63042.11
ETH 3047.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91