~/eos/build/programs/eosio-launcher error to create multi-node in local testnet

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

Expected behavior

The following is my trial on private testnet to run multi nodes, not public testnet. I want to try it later.

BTW, to setup a node, it was warned that I need at least 8G memory.

sudo git clone https://github.com/eosio/eos --recursive

cd eos
./eosio_build.sh

For ease of contract development, one further step is required, be aware, you need to go to build fold

cd build
sudo make install

Then I tried to run multi nodes in my local testnet:

cd ~/eos/build
cp ../genesis.json ./
./programs/eosio-launcher/eosio-launcher -p2 --skip-signature

It is expected to create two nodes locally:

spawning child, programs/eosiod/eosiod --skip-transaction-signatures --data-dir tn_data_0
spawning child, programs/eosiod/eosiod --skip-transaction-signatures --data-dir tn_data_1

Actual behavior

However, I came across this error while running:
/programs/eosio-launcher/eosio-launcher -p2 --skip-signature

is not a valid path.

How to reproduce

With my process above, it is easy to reproduce this issue.

The tutorial I was following:

https://github.com/EOSIO/eos

You can search "Running multi-node local testnet’.

  • Browser: Chrome
  • Operating system: Ubuntu 16.04 LTS

Recording Of The Bug

If the bug can be recorded on screen, please provide a short video or an animated GIF, otherwise delete this section.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Hey @chenlocus I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Nice one. Good to see you have found Utopian! Getting involved there is on my TODO list and so is playing with the EOS testnet. I hope they both work for you.

I once setup an ethereum private net, for transaction to take effect,. miner is still necessary. Not sure if how witnesses work in Private eos net or public testnet.

Hello @chenlocus, can you provide the tutorial you followed?

Hi @helo, I have updated the post to include tutorial link, thanks for your reminding

I am thinking you meant this: https://github.com/EOSIO/eos#autoubuntulocal
Also wondering if this is helpful:

warning As of February 2018, master is under heavy development and is not suitable for experimentation. warning

We strongly recommend following the instructions for building the public testnet version for Linux or Mac OS X. master is in pieces on the garage floor while we rebuild this hotrod. This notice will be removed when master is usable again. Your patience is appreciated.

yes, I saw that warning. Not sure if this is relevant.

I was asking because in the instructions it clearly says you have to put information in the config.ini file and you only created an empty file.

You're trying to use the software in a way it was not intended.

I will try the way you mentioned. Thanks.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

Hi @chenlocus, I'm glad to see contributions from eos on utopian, such a project deserves to be featured here.

Could you help us by removing the issue you already submitted, also in the future please don't create an issue there as this, once accepted will create an issue automatically, with the benefit of you having refined your post based on suggestions from utopian moderators and at least a second eye going through it.

Small suggestion for recording and reproducing terminal observed bugs: https://asciinema.org/ , awesome tool for this kind of stuff. Saves a lot of time on all ends to have something like this, just in case something gets lost in "translation".

Going through the issues on eos I discovered some similar ones, maybe you can collaborate with the team at eos to match them up.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65834.12
ETH 2676.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89