Infinite loading icon on upvoting for new user

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Expected behavior

Although I am not sure what the expected behavior should be, as a new user especially on a platform where contributions are decreasing and you need more contributing users, I think it is extremely important that you explain the upvoting process on comments. I would expect that if an upvote button is enabled, I should be able to upvote. If I am not able to upvote, it should be disabled and or at the very least I should receive an explanation as to why my upvote will not work. Whether I should know as a user that I can't upvote yet or not, proper practice would be to disable the button.

Actual behavior

The behavior was as follows: As a newly verified user, I wanted to upvote some helpful comments on the weekly report for approved contributions. The buttons functioned and I was presented a dialogbox seemingly asking how many percentage points I wanted to donate. I assume since I have no steem, any percentage resulted in $0.00 value. I probably should have never seen this if that is the case. The bigger concern however is that upon trying to submit the upvote I was shown a circular loading icon(progress bar) that was infinite. It appears as though my upvote action did nothing.

How to reproduce

I would guess that any new user without any steem will be able to experience this issue.

  • Browser: Chrome Version 65.0.3325.181 (Official Build) (64-bit)
  • Operating system: OSX High Sierra

Recording Of The Bug

image.png



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Congratulations @brandikun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

It was an issue with API key which was known to us and was fixed within few minutes.

It cannot be considered as a bug if it is already known to the project owner and was fixing it while updating the production server was in progress.

Thanks for keeping a close eye but sadly we cannot accept your contribution.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io.
Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Darn it! I knew it felt too easy!

Congratulations @brandikun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @brandikun! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61563.75
ETH 2648.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46