You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @utopian-io: Contribution/Score/Moderator/Vote Analysis - 13th - 19th April 2018

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Sorry Asher, I don't mean to continually hit you with the hard questions... it's just that you're just so goddamn knowledgeable.

I really want to write great detailed user documentation for a few of the apps on Planet Steem... Devs are not known throughout the IT world for being good at solid user documentation.

I'd love to submit it through Utopian, but everything in their 'Tutorial' section is more of a 'How To' guide on how to create a thing. Does Utopian have a section for detailed User Guides... is it copywriting? I just can't really find where I would add solid User Doco in to...

Sort:  

No worries :)

I'm not good with the witness questions yet but can have a go here!

utopian Documentation guidelines:

Submissions to this category are limited to official documentation of Open Source projects on GitHub.

Only merged Pull Requests on the official repository or on a fork will be accepted, as long as the fork is not just a mirror of the original repository.

If the submission does not include the full documentation project, public links to it must be provided.
Unofficial documentation will not be accepted in this category.


So I would say that might not be the place for user guide? I will ask a moderator though.

Also, https://steemit.com/@sykochica has a link on her profile to a bunch of guides, I think she keeps it reasonably well up to date and I would say its the most complete re:Steem/Steemit I've seen.

Cheers!

Thanks dude!

Hmm, that's such a shame... we have all these incredible apps out there, with all these amazing features that no one knows how to use because the developers are too busy developing (as they should be).

If you could ask, that'd be amazing... but I'm guessing I might need to contact each developer to see if I could develop User Manuals for them and add to their Github repositories.

@sykochica's guide list is amazing...

Hi @aussieninja, the "Documentation" category should be the right thing for this. Getting in touch with the developers is certainly a good idea! You can only submit an Utopian contribution if your work is merged into the official Github project, so the project owner has to support your work. I'm not an expert on that category myself, but feel free to contact Documentation moderators and other contributors on our discord channel. Also see previously accepted contributions to get a feeling on what is expected.

Thanks @crokkon, this was hugely helpful, I've now spoken with the devs I wanted to work with and one of the Mods in the Tech-Writers channel is going to help me figure out the best way forward... I've been thinking about this for a while and you've totally helped bridge that gap between thoughts and action... thank you so much. ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65955.88
ETH 3055.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69