✍ Logo for ChatSecure - open source private chat iOS appsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Hello,
this is my first Utopian contribution. Since I am a moderator. I will compose it as an tutorial for "How to make good logo for Utopian", kinda like TODO list.
 
 
Final version

ChatSecure-logo-final.jpg

 
 

Step 1.

Google for open source projects. In this example, I have googled "open source private chat". Since I like to keep my conversations private. Google the project YOU would like to use.
 
 

Step 2.

Check if they have open GitHub repository.
 

02.PNG
01.PNG
 
.... yep. Its open.
 
 

Step 3

 

Evaluate their current logo and this about ways to improve it. Not sure make something else. Do it only if you think it can be better!


 
 
Its private and its chat. This logo is quite good. The only problem is - its too generic. I decidd to build on similar ideas, but creating if from scratch.
 
 

Step 4

 

Start skething out ideas. Be wild. Explore ideas freelly, no matter if its ugly or stupid. Try to explore as much as you can.
 
 
Few tips:

  • use basic shapes
  • think using surfaces, not lines! Fill the shapes as I did. It will help you.
  • dont use small details, dont evercomplicate
  • use basic symbols
  • try to combine 2 or 3 symbols into 1
  • try using first letters (CS in my case)
  • if you have time, make as many different symbols as you can
  • develop ideas you like and discard the rest

 
 

01.jpg

  • sorry for the ugly pic. :D
     
     

Step 5

 

Go to Illustrator or Corel (please no photoshop). And make the geometry.
 
 

02.jpg
03.jpg
04.jpg
 
 

Step 6

 

Try to find some fitting font. Use only free fonts.
I have used Montserrat Google font..

05.jpg
 
 
Ask your friends and other designers to halp you pick the best versions.

06.jpg

07.jpg
 
 

Step 7

 

Make vertical and horizontal versions for different use cases. Test if they work.

08.jpg
 
 

Step 8

 

App icon and applications.

09.jpg
 
 

Test it on their real use-cases.

10.jpg
 
 

All project files

Just the logo in vector (SVG)

 

 

Step 9 (optional)

 
If you like the logo - pitch it to the project. Maybe they will like it too.
TIP: Dont use Utopian links. Use Busy or Steemit.



profile03.png

Andrej Cibík @andrejcibik

 

Web design | Web development | Logo design



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

I'm gonna print it out and hang it to my wall!.

Or spam contributors with it :)

That sounds better, haha.

Thanks for sharing your experience. It would be very helpfull to me and all community I think.
Another Thanks for your moderation. Knowing nothing about whats wrong about our contribution was a big problem. With your attitude and explanations. Its not a problem to getting rejected. Because when I try with another I know I would be better. Maybe not enough again but I will improve.

Thats great approach.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

i like it!! very good played .. :)

I have an opinion, since it's an iOS application, should we follow Apple's Human Interface Guidelines
For developer we may export as a png.
Also mock-up as App, Spotlight, Settings, and Notification Icons all in one. Like we are going to propose to a real client.
I'm guessing if someone who puts these much extra effort, probably wants to see his work alive. So it may increase the amount of interaction with project owners. It's not end up dead in utopian's history. And of course same as Androids and Windows Mobile if they had a guideline which I've never seen before.

Android has Material design which I usually prefer.
I dont know, if they reach out and say they want the logo, I can do a proper export and additional materials.
No problemo.

I would suggest you create a pull-request the owner might like it :)

Its been done in Step 9 :)

haha ive read your conversation. Great job inviting the project owners hope it reaches others, i might try that as well :)

waOo, HOw you did it. It's awesome explanation you shared. Draw on a page and convert it to photoshop or other editing software editing great thanks.

Hey @andrejcibik I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • This is your first accepted contribution here in Utopian. Welcome!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Any feedback by anyone is welcomed. Helpful feedback will be upvoted.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65557.61
ETH 3581.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47