You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Analysis] May need vote dust threshold again

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hi @blockchainstudio

Thank you for your contribution.

An interesting topic, and one covered a couple of times in recent months. This is another worthy addition, and I appreciate the time and additional steps undertaken to weed out late votes and down-votes.

The line relating to 'improved user experience' is an interesting one, and it's debatable as to which users are being discussed here. Clearly the change doesn't help new users interact, but existing users are finding far less spam comments.

Is the threshold too low / Is this stopping growth of active/engaged accounts on the Steem blockchain? Tough to say.

In light of these changes and the planned move to RocksDB, it's clear that growth/hardware is a factor, and perhaps Steemit inc decided they didn't want to waste resources on 'meaningless' votes/comments?

Thanks again

Asher [CM - Analysis]

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Hi @abh12345, thanks a lot for your review and comments. Alas, I didn't know that there was prior research on this topic. Thank you for letting me know. Is there an UI or easy way to see the title or search utopian posts only? Since I very recently started Utopian and weekly report seems to be posted on individual accounts only and authors also vary, so sometimes it's even hard to find weekly report.

Anyway, now I googled it and found https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@crokkon/don-t-cast-worthless-votes-zero-value-votes-in-hf20-1540641228665 Haha, it's quite interesting that @crokkon was my usual utopian reviewer and I didn't know this article. (Sorry @crokkon. You know I started very recently and I really didn't expect that there is someone who's interested in dust :)

But I'd like to emphasize that my main contribution is showing the trend that dust vote is increasing. Let me know if there is any article pointed out. Since this is very recent trend, there can't be if the post is older than a few months. To me, it's worrisome, considering that there are many dormant accounts that could be potentially used for dust vote in the future.

Regarding your comments,

The line relating to 'improved user experience' is an interesting one, and it's debatable as to which users are being discussed here. Clearly the change doesn't help new users interact, but existing users are finding far less spam comments.

But "spam comment" is unrelated to dust vote. My point is more like, we're getting dust vote spam :) I guess all users don't like it. Maybe some are find since too small number of votes doesn't look good. But I'm saying that now it's getting more and more.

Is the threshold too low / Is this stopping growth of active/engaged accounts on the Steem blockchain? Tough to say.

I'm not talking about the level of threshold itself. I agree that it's very hard to determine (like what % of self-vote is proper, for instance). But I'm talking about the way we should handle dust votes. I think they shouldn't be accepted on the blockchain, or at least we need to come up with another way. If there is no good idea, rejecting them is better than now in my opinion.

And I agree with you that Steemit should focus on cost reduction. You're right, they don't have resources on dusts :) Attackers also don't care now, since steemit is small and no short position is possible. Hope Steem will survive and prosper :)

Thank you so much for your feedback again. Have a nice day!

Thank you for your review, @abh12345! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44