Sort:  
Loading...

1% of all votes is pretty good. I guess modifying curation trail percentages are a low priority!

Your charts are much harder to read now I've switched my phone to monochrome. One of the downsides I guess!

Posted using Partiko Android

yes, 1% isn't too bad. Apologies, I clearly didn't consider monochrome displays when making the graphs ;)

Thank You for the info!
Is the Dust value still 0.02STU or it has been changed?

The dust payout limit is still at 0.02 STU

I didn't remember about that part of the dust change. I'll have to make sure that I don't have dust votes going out.

Did the dust payout change after HF20?

No, the dust payout threshold did not change with HF20.

thank you very much for such a very detailed explanation!
it has really opened my eyes on the Voting process.
even though it is too technical to understand everything. :)

could you please explain : how actually is reward calculated in relation to the the current Voting Power we may have at that moment - is there some formula or a % or proportion? you gave some examples which show that it is also related on SP which surely influences our VP.
so, how we may understand at what % of our VP (and SP) to vote or not, may be better to wait till it recharges back.
may be there are some websites or services already made which can calculate that automatically for us?

hey, if you'd like to play with different SP/VP/% values I'd suggest to use https://steemworld.org/@freedomwing. You can see the current values there, but also set SP/VP/% to different value to see the $-value change. If you're interested on the calculations in behind, check out this tutorial.

Well... Well darn it, I didn't know these don't even benefit the author at all. Voting mana seems to recover much slower than RCs.
A pre-emptive "Sorry Guys!" to anyone I up voted with 0.00 at 100% :(

Now I know better, thank you. Resteemed.

Hey @eccles, from what I could see on a first glance, you don't cast zero-value votes. Yes, they show as $0.00 on steemit, but under the hood they still have a value. Only you should try to keep an eye on your voting mana - which recovers with 20% per day just like the RC mana, btw ;)

Ah that's what I get for running around in a panic like a headless chicken. I'll try to wait patiently for my Voting Mana to recover. I've been powering up in the last few days, so my RCs grew proportionally, but I kind of missed the fact that powering up does not refill VM.

Thanks for clearing up my confusion so quickly, I'll try to wait for my VM to refill and vote again.

iou

Thank you, this needed explaining, and I think you did a nice job of it.

so at least a part of the voters seem to have adjusted their voting behavior.

As for adjusting the behavior, in regards to more 100% votes, I think that has more to do with the price of steem and a persons knowledge of their vote being worth less with the price drop. I know I have had to adjust my vote levels. I only vote on a few people at 100%, most content votes with payout already established get a 50% vote, and comments are up to a 70% vote now due to steem price just to keep them above dust vote level, and to reward the commenters on my post or others.

Once again thanks for the post and explanation.

Hey @bashadow, thanks for your comment! I'm under the impression that your remarks are more towards the payout dust threshold of 0.02 STU? Is there a misunderstanding? I was focusing on the changes to the vote dust threshold. edit: now I mixed up the numbers, sorry.
Correction: assuming 100% voting mana, a vote with your current SP should only have zero value if the voting percentage is below around 0.2%.

Partially, but also in the other dust cast vote, the ones that add no value. If a vote (zero value), is registered does the caster still get a portion of a curation reward? Even if their vote was one of the zero value dust votes? (did not reach the minimum 50M rshares).

A zero-value value vote cannot earn curation rewards. The weight of the vote, that defines the share of the curation rewards, is calculated from the vote's rshares - which are 0 in this case.

Thank you, finally a real answer to a question, really appreciate that. Now I can stop futzing about it all.

Thanks for putting this out. I actually understood much of it. Thanks again for taking time to put the explanation down in English.

Liked Voted and Resteemed

glad you like it & thanks for the RS!

You deserve all the love you are getting!
Good people make Steemit special- the perfect system is still far away!
STEEM ON!

Hi @crokkon

Just accidently bumped into your profile just to realize that we seem to share a number of interests :)

In particular that we both share a similar passion towards cryptocurrencies and blockchain technology :)

I will follow you closely :) big fat upvote on the way! :)
Yours, Piotr

Come on, @crypto.piotr, you can do better than spamming the chain with the same generated comments...

hi @crokkon

Of course, you're right. Whenever someone reply to me then Im completly giving this person my attention. But at the same time, how many "welcoming" comments can we come up with?

I'm spending like 10-15 minutes a day looking for people who blog about crypto and trying to build some engagement. I wish I could come up with 20 different ways of starting conversation.

I indeed am using few similar templates whenever I find some valuable account (like yours) and it may look a little bit "spammy" but I see it only as knocking on the door.

I hope my previous comment didn't upset you.

Yours
Ppiotr

hey @crypto.piotr, I actually didn't expect to get a reply, so it's great to see a "human" behind! :) You must admit, scrolling through your list of comments shows a lot of repeating patterns and the mentioning of AI in your profile makes the first impression complete. Your comment was rather generic and I didn't feel that this is a serious attempt of building engagement. Your vote was significantly higher than other bot votes in that field, though, so thanks for that. I know it's hard to build engagement, but I don't think generic and broad-scale can beat on-topic comments even though they take much more time to come up with and you'll reach less people.

Good morning

Im glad to be able to surprise you dear @crokkon. Im sure scrulling through my comments may prove that there are some repeating patterns (like welcoming comments or those when I thank people for their feedbacks).

But at the same time the majority of my comments are still unique. Im trying to find a good balance between automatization and being "human".

Your comment was rather generic and I didn't feel that this is a serious attempt of building engagement

And yet please have a look at my latests posts and see how many comments do they received. I had a chance to compare my results with many other posts from trending page and Im quite happy so far.

The thing is, that even if some of my comment is a bit spammy - it's always very well targeted. Im only "knocking on the door" with general welcoming comments to those who are publishing something about crypto. So it means that Im actually visiting every single post I comment and Im at least spending 1-2 minutes "scanning" to see if content and account is related to crypto.

ps.
I've noticed that you're coder/programmer? What languages are you using if you dont mind me asking?

Yours
Piotr

Hi @crokkon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

nice plz follow me i am new on steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39