The amazing fun facts about Omni notes and how I have been intrigued so far.

in #utopian-io5 years ago

Today marks the second day into my journey of providing relevant series for open source applications, and I believe you must have been familiar with the first one which I introduced a few days ago.

Ever since I joined the blockchain platform, I find it very difficult to write a blog post within the post editor’s interface, and this is not because I'm not familiar with any of the front ends created by our blockchain developer, just that I'm not comfortable using it.

There was a time I had difficulties with the front ends, so I had to search for an application which could operate just like the editor’s interface. After searching, many failed applications were downloaded but later I got to discover an application which works more like what I was looking for, and up till date, it has been my favorite tool when creating a blog post.


I know quite well that with much development springing up from all corners of the earth, a lot of notepad applications has been developed and established on different downloading platforms, but yet I think you’ve not seen the capabilities of Omni notes which have been a part of so far.

Omni notes is extremely unique and I don't mind sharing with you my experience and how much knowledge I have acquired so far on this application.


5C1D4429-40C3-4514-9D87-4F62CE6C7E1E.png


link

Let me introduce my points for the day so as to broaden my scope and to help simplify the workflow for proper understanding.

Area of concentration:

Omni note definition
Features

Omni notes definition:

This is where the basic knowledge about this application will be shared

I believe everyone will love to have a notepad which allows them to upload audios, videos, and pictures while working on their articles because that is the kind of application that I am reviewing today.

Omni notes have all the necessary features to aid and assist you in writing a well-developed article with adequate information.

Apart from being able to attach media files into your articles, they are a lot that can be done which I’ll share with you because have actually used this app for over a year and it has been my backbone throughout my blog articles.

What is Omni notes?


4F5C8E6A-0F04-4F9A-BBBA-1FEBE11AA299.png


Omni notes is simply an application designed to assist users in achieving more when it comes to writing notes and documentation.

Omni notes developers have proven to be the best as they have put in much work and effort to ensure that necessary measures had been taken during the process of development in order to provide users with adequate features more than what they can ever imagine in order to satisfy their insatiable desires and appetites.

If you’ve noticed from my previous series, I always talk on how I learned about a particular app in order to offer reference to whom reference is due.

In the search for an app which could satisfy my writing desires, I had to do a lot of diving which led me to learn so much about open source applications.

My sincere thanks and gratitude to utopian.io because I never knew they were applications or products being categorized as open source in the first place. This was what brought me to discover Omni notes because at that time it was one of the most popular repositories which had so much attention and I personally was one of those people who contributed highly to the enhancements of its features and to raise its standards above its competitors.

Features:

FrontPage :

I would say that this is one note app that changes how you input notes because there are so many features that should be discussed, but first Let’s talk about the front page which houses the entire feature.


5D600613-36E8-4122-9EC9-7A55F37544A5.jpeg


link

The front page is practically where you can navigate through different tab such as:

Notes:


26F14744-BCC0-4C8E-ADFE-205EF1FE9BDC.png

link


This is surely where all my notes can be discovered and this has a good view because I can easily search through them with the help of tags and categories which I'll discuss later.

There’s one feature that has been added and it makes the whole app new in terms of its UI. I noticed that each time I am creating a new note, the background color is always different likewise when these notes are being opened.


3AD7033C-BFB1-4C5C-BA25-CE449B4AED05.png


link

Each note on Omni notes can be attached to a reminder and this makes it awesome for everyone.

Reminder:

I use this feature very often because each note created has a particular information that must be executed. For instance, I’m a big part of steemhunt.com and to stand a better chance of my post gaining more visibility I have to ensure that I'm in line with the time being used which is South Korean time (KST). So to ensure that I'm always on track, all my project has a particular deadline which has been attached to Omni notes reminder.

No limits:

No limit to the number of notes that can be added. Well, this is something I find to be unique to me because I belief as it is an open source app, it is open to everyone. Omni notes have no limit in terms of the number of notes that a user can create. Currently, am working on my 521 articles.

Full-text Search:

There are days that I might want to engage in an older project which I worked on and several times it was very difficult to do so but because they were no feature which could allow me to go through a full-text search. Now, this has been rectified in subsequent updates that have been implemented and as a user, you can use this feature as you please.

Tags/Category:

Tags and categories are a bit popular in most note-taking applications, so I won’t discuss much on this. It’s just the basic tags and categories which allows me to organize my articles into different tags and categories which can be assigned to a name for easy identification.

I use this a lot because it helps in keeping me organized thereby making my search process simple.

Export/Import:

Another great feature on the Omni notes is the Export and import feature. When I was using other applications in order to write my projects before I discovered Omni notes, I had to import them from those apps because I was no longer using them. This feature allowed me to actually move notes from other platforms into my designed category in order to keep them organized.

In the area of the Exporting feature, I have not really used it and that is because most of my projects are personal so I don't find it necessary to export it across any platforms.

Media file attachment:

This is what actually led to me being a part of this product because this is a feature that I so much wanted, I mean if I can actually attach media files such as pictures, videos and audio files to my written notes, then they will be no need for me to use any of the post editor integrated in other front ends.

Share:

Share feature is a good feature that I have had a wonderful experience with. This is where I can share any article across platforms. Most times I find it to be interesting in sharing my articles with my friends and this is where I can perform this action without the use of copy and paste.

Hyperlink recognition:


F35494D1-95A6-4F52-B822-AED460A73317.jpeg


Hyperlink recognition is another feature that makes it possible for me to click a link directly on the notepad. It is a good addition from the developers and it makes it possible for users to embed URLs and emails on their notes.

Phone numbers are also recognized on Omni note.

Settings:


AD5692E4-E076-4197-AF53-F71817A6F1D1.jpeg


link

Omni notes would be incomplete without this feature because Settings is where I normally utter the behavior of this application to suit my desire and it is also where I can toggle between different notifications, navigation, and privacy.

To know about Omni notes you’ll need to visit the About tab which will introduce you to the pros and cons of this product.

Language Option:

I'm only fluent in the use of English Language, so I think I'm not in need of this feature. Omni notes support over 30 different languages so regardless of your nationality, Omni notes team of developers has taken you into consideration.

Summary:


E8CB6CFA-6E22-4FDE-AEE7-87AAA41137DD.jpeg


link

In summary, Omni notes is a great application that offers more freedom with limitless note possibilities to its users, and through its interface, you will enjoy good features that have been already discussed.

In my own view, I have never seen an application that accepts direct upload of media files while writing, but Omni notes does this which makes it perfect for different projects.

Thanks for reading.

Links:

Project Repository:

https://github.com/federicoiosue/Omni-Notes

Project Download Link:

https://omninotes.app

GitHub profile:

https://github.com/abasifreke50

Link to previous article:

My first review and how steep shot uttered my journey on the blockchain

Resources:

Almost all the screenshots were taken from the project download link except for few which have been properly sourced.

Picture references

Sort:  

Hello, @abasifreke!

Thank you for another interesting blog post. This is a very useful tool, and I am glad you decided to create an informative post about this project. Your post is also well-illustrated with quality screenshots.

On the content side, you did a really good job. You went into detail about the features mentioned in your review, and you also made this post personal by sharing your own knowledge, views and experience of using Omni Notes. Keep up the good work.

That said, there were issues of grammar, style and proofreading. Nevertheless, I enjoyed reading your review. I look forward to your next contribution.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Thank you for your review, @lordneroo! Keep up the good work!

Hi @abasifreke!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your post is eligible for our upvote, thanks to our collaboration with @utopian-io!
Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey, @abasifreke!

Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Get higher incentives and support Utopian.io!
Simply set @utopian.pay as a 5% (or higher) payout beneficiary on your contribution post (via SteemPlus or Steeditor).

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87