It May Be Your Idea Of Utopia, But It's Not Mine - The Illusion Of Paradise

in #utopia7 years ago (edited)

Show us the way to Utopia, an imagined place or state of things in which everything is perfect. I often day dream and vision such loving community, a society who is possessing highly desirable qualities where we would live together as ONE, in the most caring and loving way. 

Is it possible or just an illusion? 

In Utopia, there would be always great order, education of both sexes, communal ownership, religious tolerance with simple laws leading to peace and overall population's much needed happiness. LOVE! 

“Kindness and good nature unite men more effectually and with greater  strength than any agreements whatsoever, since thereby the engagements  of men's hearts become stronger than the bond and obligation of words.”   
 ―     
Thomas More,Utopia 

Image Source Pinterest ( picture-of-utopian-suton-skyline ) 

Origin of term From Renaissance humanist Sir Thomas More, whose book  Utopia describes a perfect commonwealth. More formed his title by conflating the Greek words “eutopia” (good place) and “outopia” (no  place). 

Utopia is inspired by Plato's Republic, which is considered as the first Novel about Utopia. 

Here is a List of Famous Utopian Novels

Utopia (book) Illustration for the 1516 first edition of Utopia. Utopia is a work of fiction and political philosophy by Thomas More (1478–1535) published in 1516 in Latin

"misplaced faith in political utopias has led to ruin"synonyms:ideal place, paradise, heaven, heaven on earth, Eden, Garden of Eden, Shangri-La, Elysium, the Elysian Fields, Happy Valley, seventh heaven, idyll, nirvana, bliss; literaryArcadia, Arcady " 

The Utopian Assumption 

The world as it is, is not what it ought to be,  but at the same time, it’s not what it has to be, 
and it can and should  be changed.  
“For if you suffer your people to be ill-educated, and their manners to  be corrupted from their infancy, and then punish them for those crimes  to which their first education disposed them, what else is to be  concluded from this, but that you first make thieves and then punish  them.”   
 ―     Thomas More,      Utopia 

The Future is Ours to Create 

We have to remember that we can change the future and we must lead by example in all aspects of our lives to fulfill a dream. I might be loosing myself sometimes in a romantic kind of way believing we could actually create our utopia in reality if politicians would allow it. We are ONE and deserve to live in paradise together.    

THE UTOPIA

- FREE OF WAR 

- NO POVERTY 

- EVERYTHING IS PERFECT AND SAFE 

- AN IDEAL SOCIETY 

- SOCIAL HARMONY 

- ECONOMIC PROSPERITY 

- POLITICAL STABILITY 

- A PERFECT WORLD 

“The society we have described can never grow into a reality or see the  light of day, and there will be no end to the troubles of states, or  indeed, my dear Glaucon, of humanity itself, till philosophers become  rulers in this world, or till those we now call kings and rulers really  and truly become philosophers, and political power and philosophy thus  come into the same hands.”   
 ―     Plato,      Plato's Republic 

Image Source 

Utopia is creepy by Nicolas Carr 

The Agreeable Internet Leaves Us Unchallenged, Makes Us Unchallenging by Derek Beres  

Has the Internet made our life less fulfilling?

The author of the Pulitzer Prize-nominated The Shallows has just released a collection of blog posts, essays, and articles called Utopia is Creepy. While he is in no way anti-technology, he recently told me  that we have come to an “intersection of technology with human nature  in a way that technology has not been designed to deal with.” 

Listen on Souncloud - - EarthRise Podcast #16 : Utopia is Creepy w/Nicholas Carr 


Remember the vision these days more than ever ! 


Yours 

Mammasitta 










Sort:  

Great points. Utopia is unrealistic and trying to create perfect places is just not possible.

I had so much more in my head but too tired to write all my messy thoughts. I better go and sleep to dream about a perfect world :)

I'm trading steem for sleep :D or the other way around :D . Thanks for posting , back to you when I wake up :) so far I'm 3 hours in after the 3 hours past midnight :D

i might have to try this trade suggestion haha

oh no , seriously staying up till 7am and steeming for 9 hours , yeah , it's not worth the pay in return :D the content might but the time and the resulting reversed day , might not be worth it , I can do it , nobody is looking up to me, nothing to care for , so I Can do stupid shit like that ;d , have to say it's better than partying till dawn :D , but i I had the opportunity to not do it , I might. Although I would miss talking to half the world :D

hahaha , Oh dear Do I know what you mean but hey , just enjoy the madness once in a while. its all worth it as long as you know when to take that much needed break.

We are inspired to create our own utopia--at least our own version of it at the @gardenofeden. And since we all have a little different version, we get all kinds of variations to our communal utopia. We find that if we base our utopia on high standards and honorable values, others with similar ideals, passions and inspirations find us. It is definitely not utopia all the time, but WAAAYYYY more of a utopia than I have seen or experienced anywhere. Ever evolving and putting into action our newest, most potent version of ourselves, we are in continuous self-reflection and upgrading of our reality. Utopia, I believe, is moment-to-moment awareness and a moment-to-moment existence. Living in gratitude for what is, and taking this moment of opportunity to be more of who we wish to be-- right now.

I loved this post @mammasitta!! Thank you for remembering and sharing the concept. I experience most people as having forgotten it is even a possibility or something to consider. Blessings and hugs to you Lovely Being!

I feel that you know how to create the Utopia for yourself and your lovely community @gardenofeden I keep on searching and building my own :), maybe its not an illusion and maybe it is possible to find a real paradise on earth. Much love to you wonderful earth woman

It's definitely an ever-changing utopia at the @gardenofeden--shifting with each new person that enters our gates and our own evolutionary process. I imagine utopia could be quite a fleeting thing, as our ideas, perspectives and desires are in constant refinement. And I surmise that the real utopia is within, not something we find in a place or a group of people. Perhaps one day you will come visit our vortex and bring together the utopias we carry inside. What a blessing that would be. Much love to you @mammasitta.

I like the idea of living samsara as nirvana. The utopia is in the present moment and we can all choose to live it or not.

Balinese call samsara = sekala and nirvana is niskala .
We can live it both at the same time? Interesting thought. So, we create our own paradise on earth ? I wish I would have the right tools and a magic wand to transform the so called " Kings" , who mess it up for me , into philosophers. I feel that society is at its lowest ever but consciousness is rising .

Book recommendation: Roaring Silence.

<div class = "text-justify" I must confess that this is one ageless piece you shared here, to me utopia is an illusion, we try to create what we can't have, in Ken Follett's "Hammer of Eden", the main character Priest believed he could create an utopia for him and his followers but in order to achieve that he was willing to sacrifice and destroy another society, isn't that funny, destroy some other person's life to create an utopia. Our world has never been perfect even from the onset, and it can't be, may be we can create some stability, albeit temporarily but never a perfect world never an utopia. My own thoughts though, and we are all entitled to our thoughts another reason I think its impossible to have an utopia, because what you deem as perfect to you might be flawed to me. All we can do is do that which is right and affect your world positively. @mammasitta, you are just awesome and I feel honoured meeting you.

Still your boy @royaltiesbiss-eu
</div

Interesting, but perhaps it might be better to post after you've had some sleep so it's not so disjointed. We can create Heaven on Earth if we stop tearing each other down, looking for differences and behaving destructively in so many other ways and start looking for excuses to build a better world.

Terimakasi Untuk feedback anda ! Apakapar di Java dan Indonesia indah, a little "paradise" on earth. I am not sure what you mean with being "disjointed" but appreciate your concern about my sleeping habits 😴😳 I prefer to stay spontaneous with my posting style and enjoy to follow my maybe a bit messy thoughts. Oh well , My English very limited on vocabulary.
I have hopes in human kind to wake up just in time. I really do believe it's possible but probably not that soon and in my lifetime. First "kings" need to become philosophers.

Oh, then what I observed was because English is not your first language? I had no idea! What is yours?

I'm not sure that a philosopher king is the answer, but I've never come across the idea before...

Wise words by Socrates

"Until philosophers rule as kings in their cities," Socrates casually tells his young friend Glaucon, "or those who are nowadays called kings and leading men become genuine and adequate philosophers ... cities will have no rest from evils."

Yes, I saw that quote. Unfortunately, I've never seen this philosophy before, so I haven't got a clue if it's good or not.

I am born in Vienna, Austria
Try my best possible to express in various languages , risk to pour out my soul, tainted with errors .

Good for you! I wish you success!

I just upvoted you! But, Why Does One Person Get To Decide for us all? Know the truth.
https://steemit.com/abuse/@iloveupvotes/mass-spamming-mentions-issue-why-does-one-person-get-to-decide

When you know how to deal with information overload and you find out what we nowadays understand under the term "philosopher", Platos eutopia seems to be really creepy to me. One of the big questions in political philosophy is whether politics is offering enough utopian stories to know how we (or our children's eyes) want to see the future world. I like to defend my position that you won't know how utopia looks like when you have not seen a real dystopia, also a reason why I began to love sci-fi movies, whether Sandra Bullock in Gravity gets a wake up by her former fellow who died in space, Will Smith in I Am Legend seems to be the only human being on earth or Patricia Clarkson in the Mazerunner third part the death cure gets shot by her colleage Janson (Aidan Gillen)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85