Poetry: WHAT IS LIFE?

in #usual8 years ago (edited)


It was 2011 when I found myself lost in the life-maze
I had questions of all sorts popping in my head
"What is life? Who am I? What lies ahead?"
Are we just a part of evolution the way Darwin stated?
Survival of the fittest -naturally selected?
Or just an amalgamation of elements chemically reacted?
Or, Is there a purpose to life instead?
Are there pre-defined rules for living it?
If yes, who designed the grid?
And how did we agree to believe in it?
Are we just puppets with threads?
If yes, who is pulling it?
But why would that happen?
What does one achieve in it?
Entire world puts its belief in it
But why am I not conceiving it?
Is this life for real or am I dreaming it?
Where do I find the answers? Google's 404ing it.
Religious books seem to be screaming it.
So the next moment, I find myself skimming each one of it.
Videos about life by various religions, I am streaming it.
Each has different stories and interpretations with details in it.
10 tabs explaining life on Youtube, just did 46 hours 23 minutes.
Very different perspectives and theories, I am absorbing it.
Ideas of heaven and hell, sense of sins and good deeds in it.
Each deity presented unflawed, powerful and perfect in it.
Telling readers, the benefits and perks of worshipping (it).
Perfectly articulated and stated in human readable language.
But language came into existence much later to fit in and spread.
So, how did the humans communicate with the gods then
How did they understand the rules that they weren't supposed to break?
Were the then humans more advanced than us and didn't need a language?
Or did god learn all the languages and could communicate in any one of it?
What happened to the humans who existed before the texts?
Were they placed in hell for not reading something that never existed?
Or were everyone prior to existence of texts, ushered to heaven instead?
Perhaps, it is not so twisted and there's no afterlife ahead.
Perhaps, Just human created environments and ideas with intentions unknown yet.
For power lied in the strength of a group, it was strategically propagated
To tap the fear that rests in every human's brain in the head.
So going to war with more people had lesser probability of defeat in it.
But, I wasn't there and the textual descriptions have conflicts in it.
So, I am just best guessing it.
Perhaps, humans interpreted Gods in their own way
In the faith of betterment and the hope for satisfaction paved the way
A source of power and peace, a reliable fixer of one's all problems, the almighty
Or is God a placebo and we turn up; to leverage our guilt or pray for betterment?
So, is there a God or are there Gods as claimed by the books printed?
I don't know, none of us do. I guess even the ones claiming it are faking it.
They're putting their best guesses in it, or blindly following it.
Or in the words of the religious, it's called putting faith in it.
With each generation, the legacy continues with no one questioning it.
Or reading one book that claims to speak the truth and adhering to it.
Not even open minded to read what thoughts the books from other religions bring to it.
Biased, unbalanced decisions are put forth, you're not sure but you're still claiming it.
Follow your belief but don't be preaching it like you know God when you don't know it.
The universe is vast and we barely know anything of it yet.
May be, there are aliens and intelligent lives beyond our reach.
May be, we do serve a purpose in the evolutionary scale and that's the only purpose of life in itself.
Or may be there is a God who has it all designed for me.
At the end of it all, ask me to conclude and I'd say
"I don't know", so until we figure it out, I'd like to keep it this way.
I don't know what life is, if you have it figured out, I'd like to hear your say.
Until then, I'd be chilling and living it. Yeah, life - I'd be steeming it.

-ISTEEMIT
Not for reproduction

Edit: Updated with regular font size as suggested by @markopaasila.

Sort:  

unbalanced decisions are put forth, you're not sure but you're still claiming it.

I really enjoyed the feeling of acceptance with regard to not knowing the answers. I'll be joining you on 'chilling and living it'....with a dash of let's help each other improve and explore it more effectively together.

I have just accepted that I don't have the answers, and I guess there is no problem with it.
You're welcome to join me on the journey of exploring life ;)

Very nice read, I enjoyed it! I'll give you a verse from the bible in response:

To those who by persistence in doing good seek glory, honor and immortality, he will give eternal life.

So according to the bible, the search in itself is important.

With no disrespect in any manner, I'll give you my own verse just so you understand where I come from:

"Perhaps, it is not so twisted and there's no afterlife ahead.
Perhaps, Just human created environments and ideas with intentions unknown yet."

"Or reading one book that claims to speak the truth and adhering to it.
Not even open minded to read what thoughts the books from other religions bring to it.
Biased, unbalanced decisions are put forth, you're not sure but you're still claiming it.
Follow your belief but don't be preaching it like you know God when you don't know it."

Please don't yell. Please

Yell for? Why would you read it in a yelling tone? lol.
It's just the voices in my head.

Sorry, I meant paragraphs are unpleasant to read if they are formatted as a heading. Markdown is actually very simple; Text written without formatting is displayed as normal text. People will enjoy your texts more if formatted properly. Cheers!

I actually formatted it on purpose so it becomes easier to read as it is a long write up :|

You suggest me to change it?

Absolutely. If you want to make it easier to read, you should try to split it into a few paragraphs if possible, rather than emphasizing everything.

The idea of markdown is that you should just concentrate on the structure of the text and the text itself, and leave the formatting to the software which displays it. That makes it possible for a browser to optimize it for your screen size, and if there's a problem, it shouldn't be addressed by structuring the whole text as a heading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 54657.34
ETH 2331.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14