THE FLIES.

in #ussminnowprize6 years ago

Who could I turn to in my distress?
The flies have plundered my home,
they will not leave me a minute of peace,
attacking me fiercely like foes.

Across my eyelids and eyes they race,
in my ears they recite their poems,
like a pack of hungry wolves they devour
my bread when I’m eating alone,
and as though I’d asked them over like friends,
they take what they want on their own.

images (1).jpeg
source

It seems they’re only seeking their share
when I offer them lamb and wine
but that, it turns out, isn’t enough:
they also covet what’s mine.

If I summon guests to come and dine,
at the head of the table they swarm,
and so I long for winter lest
I starve because of them.

Its cold and rain will wipe them out
thank God, who dwells with the cherubim.

Sort:  

Good poem. I wrote a poem about a fly not too long ago. Check it out, maybe you will like it.
https://steemit.com/poetry/@johnwjr7/aftxf-buzzed

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @rebe to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60910.03
ETH 3358.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47