America the Land of Opportunity if you work Hard you can achieve all and that's my story please read

in #usa7 years ago (edited)

americaopportunity.png
mypic.jpg
pakusa.jpg

Hi my name is Omar just turned 35 and looking back 14 years ago when i moved to USA from Pakistan,as an immigrant i remember making the toughest decision of my life moving to USA with my parents, i remember landing here in USA and being sad leaving tons of friends and family back in Pakistan.
i moved in my uncle house it was friday when i landed and i remember waking up saturday morning to this
snow.jpg
which looked amazing from inside the room but when my uncle ask me to let plow the snow it was once of the worst experience ever.
2 days later on monday my uncle asked me to get up early to go to work now when i was in pakistan i never worked life was good school, play and sleep that all i ever did so hearing about work got me excited but it wasnt really that exciting since my first job was 7eleven .
711.jpg
i know that funny and such a pakistani thing to do is working in 711 .
first day at work i was asked to do 12 hour shift for 9$ per hour, i didnt even know where the garbage bin was in my house now i am moping, sweeping and doing garbage in 711.
reason for me moving to USA was because my dad was going broke and the only opportunity we had was coming to USA now take me wrong i was thankful for being here and working my ass off, anyways i started working 12 hours a day 6 days a week and i worked my ass off, customers use to tell me on daily bases that my english is not bad at all since i just moved i spoke decent english.
6 months down the road one day a customer walk up to me and asked me why dont i work somewhere else why 711 i was like not sure i never looked for a job to me it seems hard to find a job since i have only been here for 6 months .
this customer goes to me i worked in a place where they looking for people who can type decent speed and they pay 14$ per hour he was like let me setup an interview for you try it out what is there to lose.
the company he refered to me was ADP now known as Broadridge
Broadridge.jpg

i took my interview with this amazing manager catherine she liked me immediately hired me on the spot which my parents and uncle was very happy about .
in august 2004 i start working in broadridge full time and kept working in 711 part time, i worked really hard in that place met alot of new friends, my real journey to success really started from Broadridge it helped me alot with work ethics, communication skills, American Culture and my english improved alot working there.
while working there making $35,000 a year and being happy with that one day a good friend of mine hit me up about working for Tmobile authorize dealer he was managing and my first question to him was do they give benefits and he was like no i immediately denied his offer. but keep sending him customers which he use to pay me 30$ per customer as a referral .
few months down the road the same friend hit me up again offering me to work for AT&T mobility as a sales rep
att.png
i was like come on bro again another sales job he was like this one is a corporate own store and your hourly will be lower then Broadridge but you can make alot of money in commission and again my immediate response was hell no i cant take less pay, my friend was like listen what ever you make less then broadridge i will pay you out of my pocket i was like why would you do that he told me because i know you can be a great sales rep and you can make alot of money with AT&T. i took his word and went for my interview i still remember the Area manager asked me if i ask you to go to sales floor and make a sales would be able to do, after few seconds my respond to her was sure but you need to let me shadow one of your sales rep for 5 minutes then ill be ready.
she loved my response and my confidence and offered me a position in one of her stores.
my first store was this
DP.jpg
Oh lord i was so scared of this walking into one of the busiest on Longisland NY with bunch of sharks was a scary feeling.
from the day i start working there i made some friend great motivators all the Reps were very helpful.
1 year with AT&T i landed #2 spot on the sales rep Ranking in NY/NJ and #8 in Northeast and my first YTD income went almost 3 times as compare to what i was making in broadridge .
i worked for 5 years in the same store as a sales Representative made my name as a top shark in Northeast winning multiple rewards during my 5 years i was offered many different jobs in different companies and with in AT&T but i stayed in sales untill one day i decided to go for management position as an Assistant store manager.
i told my manager i want the position within 30 days or else ill go for a different area gutsy call it was for me.
with in 30 days i got promoted to Assistant manager and got to work in the largest store in NY which was Shirley Long island store, after working for 1 year as an assistant and did very well as a assistant i asked my area manager to consider me a store manager because i showed my potential as an assistant i think i am ready to take a Store manager position.
he liked my confidence and promoted me to a manager position .
i got a level 1 store then with in 6 months i got promoted to a level 2 store and with in 1 year of that i got promoted to a level 3 store the same store i worked in as a assistant manager, i took that store to #1 store in long island and #5 in NYNJ and won multiple awards and was able to win the AT&T summit award the ultimate award.
now i am with AT&T for over 9 years i went thru alot of ups and downs specially as a manager but i rise out of all the problems.
Moral of the story is USA is a land of opportunity
americaopportunity.png
i love this country and people of this country who helped me who critisized me who made me learn alot GOD bless America.....
please upvote my post and repost if you can i would upvote your post and repost them.

Sort:  

Nice post. Doesn't look like you are getting the votes you deserve though. You should check out steemengine.

Hey, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and I like work.

i follow you and upvote to your post ,, now kindly upvote me and follow me back then i will give upvote to your five more posts

https://steemit.com/dmania/@awais55/twitter-user-works-out-how-to-get-rid-of-the-new-snapchat-update

Hello, thank you for sharing part of your immigration story with us @ychaudrys! You are obviously a very hard working person with so much motivation and desire to succeed. I am thankful that such a deserving person as yourself is not discouraged to the point of being broken, and is still striving to accomplish their goals! You are an inspiration Omar. Thanks again for posting brother. Have a blessed day.

thank you @medicinewheel i appreciate you reading my post . people like are the reason why i am where i am always motivating me and see my potential .

Nice post frnd....upvoted and followed u may also upvote and follow me frnd....to make community strong.....

thanks alot man i did upvote and follow you lets make some money and work hard...

Upvoted all-star cryptocurrency

Thanks man will upvote all ur post please do the same @bebeomega

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to see some new faces!

Keep on living the dream my family also came to this country with nothing and have been given great opportunities being in this amazing country.

I am also a new user and learning how steemit works. Follow me @byzantinehash and upvote my intro post if you like it.
If you are interested in crypto currency be sure to watch for new posts. I just made my first post on a series I am about to begin: https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@byzantinehash/easy-to-mine-cryptocurrency-series-volume-1 don’t forget to upvote if you like it.

I loved the work @byzantinehash you put up and i upvote and repost your post snd follow u

Thanks my friend!

this is the post i was speaking about just incase you are interested @brandonfrye

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56