The Legend of Swamp Ass

in #urbanlegendflash307 years ago (edited)

If you stop long enough on any front porch for a cup of ice tea and a friendly smile, you'll eventually hear a whispered story delivered with a warm Southern twang. Over the trilling of crickets, the rush of a spring wind, and the babbling of a gnarled creek, one person will lean in with a sly smile and say...

"You know, I saw him once. "

If you disregard the groaning of the rest of the company present, and ask innocently, "Saw who?" you'll hear a tale spun from yarns begun long before you were a twinkle in your daddy's eye.

In this neck of the woods, they all know about him. It isn't so much a being, but perhaps more of a specter, that seizes control of honest people and turns them into something unwholesome. Something foul, something... downright obscene.

On a warm summer day, when the sun is dead center of an endless sky, when your mind isn't preoccupied with supernatural horrors that may lurk behind every creaking tree limb or rustled leaf, that is when you can expect him.

You will never know exactly when his red hot fingers have traced your spine, for the midday heat all but masks his touch. You can never rely on your ears, for his footfalls are nonexistent. He simply drifts on the warm stagnant air like a nightmare pulled on spider's silk.
There is one thing you can detect... you can smell his breath. But by then, you've already been transformed.

While you are standing beneath a tree, taking shelter from the intense heat, the smell hits you. It smells damp, mildewed... musky... perhaps a little earthy. You freeze, suddenly becoming aware of every drop of sweat that is slithering down your body. The 100 degrees that a moment ago was nearly suffocating, now feels cold and uncomfortable.

It completely surrounds you. It has taken your humanity, your dignity, your pride. There isn't a towel on the planet absorbent enough to dry you, nor enough Gold Bond powder to soothe you. You have swamp ass.
beast-1296152_960_720.png

The beast has crept upon you in the dead still of the day and laid claim to your backside and your dignity.

Almost all of the South has heard the tale of poor Billy Suffner. One year, he had neglected to shower, and unbeknownst to him, this made him especially susceptible to Swamp Ass. Your own ripeness melds perfectly with the reek of his rashy, damp existence and calls him up from the marshes.

While he played with his friends at the shore of a cool creek, the smell overtook his companions. Billy had his back turned carrying on in his merriment, reveling in the fact that the return to school was at least another two weeks away. Being young and oblivious, he completely neglected to notice the warning signs that he was enveloped in a rankness that only others could smell. As they say:

"Everyone likes their own brand."

Suddenly, the creek had become unusually silent with the exception of a rattling, raspy sound. It was staggered but somehow still in unison. Billy faced the water, mustering the courage to turn around. Fear and misfortune hung in the air so thick that it was nearly palpable. He counted to three and spun about.

Laying still on the ground, with twisted expressions of pain and excruciating suffering on their faces, were all three of his playmates. Susie-Joe, Bo-Cleatus, and little Tommy all fallen prone in the gravel and clay, fearfully blue. That was when Billy realized that the sound he heard was their gasping for breath. They had suffocated.

Billy, being young and not privy to tales of the obscene was unaware that he was carrier of the summer plague that has killed all of his friends. Fueled by fear and pure adrenaline, he ran home, fearing he was surely the next to die. Little did he know, if he had simply jumped into the creek, he would have negated the Swamp Ass's spell and prevented the further tragedy that was about to befall those that he loved.

Sprinting through a yard scattered with old and rusty, bric-a-brac he could see the ramshackle outline of his double wide home. The shredded screen on the door rippling in a soft breeze. If he had only looked behind him and seen the dead grass and flowers he had left in his wake...

He burst through the door, a sweat splattered mess of tears and dirt, crying for help. His mother and father sprinted from the back room, desperate to run to his aid. Only to collapse in the hallway and fall away from earth, carried away to the afterlife on a cloud of noxious reek.

To this day, it is believed that little orphaned Billy still wanders the South, having become adopted by Swamp Ass himself and selecting his next victim.


Save a life, please tell your children about Swamp Ass.


swamp ass.jpg

Brought to you by the council for clean butts.

HTML tutorial





PSA Swamp Ass poster by @soundwavesphoton

Sort:  

Sometimes I have swamp ass so bad it's like Dagobah down there.

yoda.jpg

I wish my vote held more sway because that is beautiful.

I never thought having Dagobah in my pants would do anyone any good so that's reward enough.

Well, that just won't do. In 36 minutes lovejuice is going to bestow a gift upon you.

This comment has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 5.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @stitchybitch. Vote for Aggroed!

This. Was. Hilarious! I literally guffawed. Repeatedly! Thank you for this terrifying and terrific entry!

Okay, now that I've stopped laughing, read it to my husband (he's from Deep East Texas by the way), stopped laughing again, started laughing at his inability to stop laughing, and finally stopped laughing again, I want to take a moment to also comment on your terrific prose. I especially enjoyed this, "You will never know exactly when his red hot fingers have traced your spine, for the midday heat all but masks his touch. You can never rely on your ears, for his footfalls are nonexistent. He simply drifts on the warm stagnant air like a nightmare pulled on spider's silk." You have a great way with words and I'm following for more!

This comment was the most satisfying comment I've ever read. I have seriously been sitting around, rereading this, laughing hysterically, and trying to figure out what to say back. Does that make me a nerd?
Even if I don't win, making you guys laugh like this... I will be riding the high for a solid month! Either way, I hope you enjoy the rest of my blogs! I try to keep it eclectic!
And thank you so, so, so much for complimenting my prose and writing style. That means a LOT coming from you. It is really inspiring since I've wanted to keep writing and was originally intimidated by your affinity for good sentence structure and the like.
AND THEN YOU LIKED IT

I'm so happy to have made you happy! It's like a big "Perpetual Happy Machine!"

Are you joined up at the Minnow Support Project? I would love to see you in the Fiction Workshop!

I think I am but I'm not entirely sure! I'd definitely love to join and appreciate a good challenge.
Let's keep this feeling going forever! Shall I tell you strikingly attractive and delightfully articulate you are?! (TOTALLY not trying to sway a judge with flattery)
Do you happen to have a link to where I need to go to join up? I am currently navigating on mobile with bad wifi and it is a pain in the ass to say the least.

Lol! Luckily I have @horrorguyian to keep my feet grounded in spite of any flattery ;)

Here is the link to the Discord Channel: https://discordapp.com/invite/v3GpU4N

Once you're on, just click on #Fiction-Workshop and join in! You can PM me through there, @jrhughes, just like on here. Hope to see you there!

oh! derp derp. I am in PAL general all the time! I wonder why I never saw the fiction workshop?
I'll be there AND I'll be square!
I look forward to seeing all the results from you and @horrorguyian!

This is so damn funny @stitchybitch. Seriously, laughing so hard right now!

BTW...

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions, hope to hear from you soon!

AH. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THIS DOES BUT YES, PLEASE!
@mk40 I accept! And thank yooooooou!

Lmao!! Totally in love with your writing style, so unique! You should consider making a graphic novel hint hint =P
I'm currently stalking your comments on discord

Thank you a million times over! Comments like these do wonders for my self confidence so I really can't thank you enough!
Graphic novels, eh? That would be awesome! Might you want to illustrate? nudgenudgewinknudge

Well they call me wonderwoman so you are in luck! Except I am not a woman.
My pleasure luv! And absolutely, I'd be up for a kickass collab with you ^__^

I am so down! Let me know if you have an idea for one!

Hmmm! How about we start with a collab post and see how that goes?
We'll "level up" to graphic novels with time 😆😆

Maybe somethin' about a grumpy stinky whale with a cigar in his mouth?

Can be a narrated story or the whale can actually say things (speech bubbles)

Thinkin' out loud! He's the big stinky steemit whale

He upvotes NSFW

xDDD

I have a shop in hot and sunny South Africa. I have personally met numerous swampasses. I remain immune for now. Or is that my brand......?!

You've been infected!
bum bum BUUUUUM

Ok I need to start writing my hitlist then?

I recommend heading the list "People I Want to Hug". It can raise a lot of questions when stationary is found that says "People to Swamp Ass".

Hahahaha if I was found with a HUG LIST everyone would immediately know I was the offender of whatever dastardly action occurring. Apart from my family, I carefully dole my hugs out at a rate of about 5 a year.

Hey, sometimes you have to be stingy with the hugs!

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 8.33 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @soundwavesphoton. Vote for Aggroed!

Hilarious! Congratulations!

Hahaha!!! :D
Awesome piece of writing!

Hahahha! Thank you so much @sandzat! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59