Limbo (Urban Legend Flash Fiction Contest)

in #urbanlegendflash307 years ago (edited)

Where do the souls of a vampire wait? Answer limbo...



I have waited for what seems like centuries for this day. My master tells me that soon the key will arrive, soon the gates to my prison will open and I will be able to taste the power of freedom. I wait now eagerly, for what seems like a lifetime, for time has no logic here. It might have only been a second since my Master gave me the news, it could have been another century. He controls how time passes here, it is on his whim to whether our sentence passes in a blink, or is stretched out into millennium, of torturous hours staring at the blank walls of limbo.   

I say 'our' although only my Master visits me. I only believe their are others because I hear their wailing somewhere out in the blankness. I have tried to find them, but the blankness is boundless. Just a bright white void with no shades that would indicate depth. So I wait...

My key is a soul, his arrival tears through the fabric of the blankness. He now stand frozen within a moment, his body contorted like he is in pain, arm and legs sprayed like a star. Behind me the blankness remains, but behind him I see movement, I see figures moving and can smell sweet smells of the world passed his form. But the world passed him is mute. As I touch him I am hit by a feeling of great regret, sadness, but most of all I feel a wash of guilty that stabs within my belly. I retract my hand and the feeling subside. I avoid bushing his skin as a duck under his right arm and pass into the world beyond. I sniff the air and he smells sweet of decay and misery, the smell pulls at me, I move towards where it lingers strongest.

The ground beneath my feet is cold and wet, it squiggles in-between my toes the sensation makes me giggle, yet no noise in this dimension passes from my lips. The ground vibrates violently  and through the fog I see it a great fountain of earth has just been sent skywards, fuelled by an orange explosion. Then another, all around me beautiful fountains of soil and blinding orange showers down. 

A smooth pieces of metal comes flying towards me at great speed, I see and feel as it passes through me, my shoulder not slowing it from his intended route and target.

The smell is getting stronger, pulling me.    

The carpet beneath my feet now is no longer Earth, it is weaved with bodies, they all look the same, khaki and lifeless, blood oozing from multiple wounds. As I moved I could feel their bodies submit to my weight, squeezing blood out, painting my bare feet in a dark claret. The smell of death is hypnotising, enticing me to move forward through the fields of death.

In front of me I see a wispy figure clinging to one of the corpses, as I look out across the miserable land I see many such partnerships. I think the wispy form is weeping, but I can't be sure as I can't hear anything. I kneel down in the mud and extend my hand to comfort him, but upon my touch the wispy spirit disintegrates. With it came a delightful jolt of pleasure run up my arm and through my body. My fingers tingled with a feeling of energy, I feel stronger and more alert. 

I wanted more of that sensation. I crossed to the next wispy being and as it turned I outstretched my hand and he disappeared into my grasp. Again I felt the jolt of power, again I felt delicious feeling that made me gasp with pleasure. I wanted more and I ran across the corpses littered field feeding my new hunger. 

Sort:  

Great story, really liked the imagery!

end of the world?

upvoted,resteemed

You paint a really vivid picture here, and what a cool twist on the vampire!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thank you very much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61763.08
ETH 2899.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49