Fair WARNING to ALL VOTE BEGGARS

in #upvoting7 years ago (edited)


picture source: quickmeme.com

Vote Beggars: You are put on Notice!

Let there be no mistake or misunderstanding. I HATE Vote-Begging of the kind: Upvote mine and I upvote yours. Here is such request, one of many I received today:

Sender xx:xx AM
hy,i will upvote your post if you will do the same

Solicitation after solicitation for an upvote in exchange for an upvote. My response to these users is always the same:

"Appreciate, but here upvoting on merit/quality of post, not for the sake of it."

I shall add the link to this post going forward.

Nothing to do with Marketing

There is a difference between promoting ones work, even other authors' articles, and vote solicitation that circumvents honest competition. The one is creating visibility - which there is nothing wrong with. The other constitutes depravity, the shameless begging for an upvote with the aim to achieve gain without honest effort.

A friendly reminder within ones' own article to upvote without a promise of a reciprocal vote is not begging. It is fair marketing. Upvote, if you feel you enjoyed reading the post.

So I ask:

  • Are you vote-beggars just users, using the system?
  • Are you vermin that try to make a quick buck but are incapable or unwilling to compete in a value creation environment?
  • Are you condemning yourselves to lifelong milking of a system that could feed every investor?
  • Are you scammers, determined to harassing quality content creators to vote for whatever you may or may not have have written, perhaps even plagiarized?
  • Or do you indeed have quality content but have a warped understanding of marketing?
  • Where is the value of voting blindly regardless of content, interest, moral lesson.
  • Do you upvote content that goes against every fiber of your being?
  • Is that not the definition of self-destruction?

Vote for Money - @randowhale

I have not entirely understood the criteria of some benefit initiatives, such as are promoted and practiced by @randowhale. For 2 SD, @randowhale will consider upvoting your content using the accounts voting power and monetary weight, which could result in greater exposure and a ROI. I would like to think that @randowhale has the integrity to reject spam, low quality, posts or would upvote lower quality in such way that the submitter just breaks even, in effect returning the money invested without profit. Perhaps @randowhale could outline the criteria? I would appreciate. That said, I would not dare submitting trash for upvote to a whale account or @curie,for example. And perhaps spammers are not looking to invest the 2 SD to promote their submission.

Theft and Fraud

It is theft, perpetrated on those who do take the time to think a post through, write, format, discover knowledge, develop wisdom and so improve the world we live in and thus raise the value of Steem.

It is fraud on the investors of monetary, time, and creative resources. What do YOU bring to the table? An empty, meaningless vote? I'd rather have none. Fake votes can neither compete with, nor sustain a value creation platform. So, get your act together, think, drink less aspartame loaded diet soda. Consume less, create more.

Encouraging an Upvote

So, fair warning to anyone with the fraudulent request to upvote in exchange for an upvote: I will flag your content (downvote) if I find it to be flaky, half-hearted or click baiting, low quality spam. For you are lowering the value of quality submissions worth reading. And frankly, I have no time for time wasters.

Rant over.

Thanks for reading and have a productive weekend.

ch @globobop

***

Upvote_gif_globocop_Steemit.gif

Sort:  

I agree with the upvote.. But i must admit i ask to follow me when i start follow someone.. i only got 5 days on steemit soo i think is normal. 🤣But yes there is no sense to upvote only to be nice....

It's a learning curve for all of us. Encouraging someone to follow is not quite as sinister. However, I have lost a couple of followers following a comment on blind following... I am glad they are no longer associated with my account.

ch @globocop

I just saw a genious that registered in June 2017 commenting a post of a known member since August 2016 like this:

"Welcome to Steemit :)
I follow u, follow me back..."

WHAT?! WELCOME TO STEEMIT?!?!??!

Yeah, some have it in themselves... I did, however, also welcome a couple of people, even though I, too, am a newbie. Just not pretending to be a whale. :D

yes. Nothing wrong with welcoming people. It's just weird when they arrived waaaaay earlier than you. That's what that folk was doing :)
cheers

There is almost always a bunch of clowns around - (but I can't stand them)... 🤡

Maybe having to do with my being an introvert exponential.

It's probably that :)

I agree with you that upvoting and resteeming should have everything to do with the post quality or if you like the content. I haven't asked anything of anyone. But I must say I agree with @samuelsilva as well about the fact that it does help get newbies started. What's wrong with two people starting out asking to help each other out? I believe the guys at the top of anything have systems in place where they help each other out as well. Take a look at youtube. You have top dogs always calling each other out and getting other guys views. So how is it any different to have guys starting out doing the same?

Helping one another out is great. But not blind upvoting. Just because Youtubers do it, doesn't make it right. Or valuable. Every person gets steem power upfront, some is lent, and that IS real help. One works the way up, not cheat the system. I am a newbie. Working my way up, hopefully. Engaging others with good content. My emphasis is on blind upvoting - loyalty traded for morals. Hope this makes sense.

ch @globocop

Sure. Agree. Check your upvotes, to the actual views of the story. They probably don't match. People are reading the title and upvoting, blindly. Would you be willing to toss your upvotes away for actual views? I'm seeing 42 upvotes and 16 views.

My post has 16 views, 7 comments, 4 upvotes at this time. It is a @samuelsilva's comment that has received 16 upvotes. Bless him. 👌🏻

42 is my reputation score at the time of writing.

Touche. I think I was checking another number. Bless him indeed ;)

Congratulations @globocop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi globocop,
our community don't want to violate or harm any one.
We are forming community and causes with real world effects - not to remain in virtual hard drive storage space.
Thus we do ask, and not beg, for mutual support.

Can we be friendly neighbors helping each other?
Hopefully you will join us too.

Hello @ronmamita,

I don't think there is anything wrong with asking at the end of ones' quality post to upvote, comment, follow, and resteem. I am speaking against quid pro quo votes/following requests, as this dilutes the value of the Steemit community and STEEM as a crypto currency in my view. Helping one another is part of adding value to the community. I certainly hope this post has encouraged others to offer value instead of trying to milk the system and cheat others out of well deserved recognition.

Thanks for reading the post.

Happy Wednesday

ch @globocop

Good to know 😃
Wednesday? still Tuesday here, your region must be a day ahead - wishing you a joyful day too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32