One month Upvote Shares review: A great way to grow your account!

in #upvoteshares6 years ago (edited)

About a month ago I decided to join @upvoteshares and bought two shares of level 2. Now that one month has passed it is time for a review and to decide whether or not to increase the number of shares I own.

image.png
Source: @upvoteshares

What is Upvote Shares?

Upvote Shares (@upvoteshares) is an experiment that aims to provide daily upvotes to shareholder based on a predetermined model in a way that should be fair, extremely transparent, scalable and sustainable over time. The @upvoteshares account is split up in equal shares that each represent a minimum daily upvote % from the account. All shareholders will get daily upvotes based on how many shares they own. The amount of shares and the price of each share are directly linked to the Powered Up SP in the account. There are many mechanisms in place that increase the value of each share over time.

More information can be found in the Upvote Shares Terms & Conditions.

Buying shares and fees

One month ago I bought two Upvote Shares for a price of 3.320 STEEM (+ 0.300 STEEM entry cost fee) each. When you exit the scheme, you can sell your share with 0.200 STEEM exit costs. If I would like to exit now I hence would have "lost" 1 STEEM on fees.

Rewards from received upvotes

It is always hard to pinpoint how much upvotes from a certain account exactly yield. I will use two tools to make a good estimation.

First, Steemworld shows me how much author rewards I received the last 30 days. Though this is not exactly the same period as I received the upvotes (because payout takes place 7 days after posting) I use this as the best guess.
Below you can see that I received about 14.500 STEEM in author rewards last month (assuming an average SBD/STEEM ratio of 1).

image.png
Source

Now, It is time to determine how much of that rewards came from @upvoteshares. Steemreports has a nice tool to do this, which can be seen below. It turns out 4.1% of the value of my incoming votes were from Upvote Shares. Taken the total rewards of last month into account, that is equal to 0.595 STEEM.
Given that I bought the shares for 6.640 STEEM, the annual Return on Investment is 12 (months) x 0.595 / 6.640 = 108%.

image.png
Source

But there is more. When I joined I also got sponsored a place on the @minnowshares list (by @stimp1024) for as long as level 2 was active. In this period the upvotes from Minnow Shares were good for 1.7% of my upvotes, which means an additional 0.247 STEEM in author rewards.

Overview

When I put all data together, the following can be seen:

  • Fees paid/to be paid: -1.000 STEEM
  • Result of one month of @upvoteshares upvotes: 0.595 STEEM (ongoing as long as I own the shares)
  • Result of one month of @minnowshares upvotes: 0.247 STEEM (only one month and thanks to an external sponsor)
  • Net result after one month: -0.158 STEEM
  • Return on Investment: 108% (only taking upvotes by @upvoteshares into account)

Conclusion

Based on these data I would say that the Upvote Shares initiative/experiment is a great way to increase the value of your Steemit account. There is a little "loss" in the buying and (eventually) selling of the shares, but the Return on Investment of 108% is quite impressive. This is even more impressive when you take into account that I posted relatively little last month (because of my holiday). When you post - and get upvotes - daily the monthly rewards and ROI will be even higher.

Unfortunately I didn't have enough STEEM to buy a level 3 share, but I definitively will save some STEEM for level 4!

Special thanks to @costanza, who came up with the idea of Upvote Shares and is working hard to keep it going. Keep up the good work!

Sort:  

Thanks for the review @erikklok and it's nice to read you are satisfied so far. I plan to keep it that way !

I know the program itself brings quite a lot of info to process and it's not always easy to communicate it properly. (I do my best) The shares go up in price each level and the minimum return will always increase, but the amount you can get back when exiting early stays the same as stated in the example in the terms & conditions.

The project is mostly designed for long term thinkers on Steemit and the returns always aim to do better than a 10x self upvote for what gets invested. The money and extra value needs to come from somewhere. This is where I add 10% extra SP each level and the ones that give up on Steemit who see part of their share destroyed when exiting which benefits all other shareholders (along with some other mechanics that create value for shareholders). This would not be possible when giving more Steem back than what was put in over time. I hope this makes sense and clears that out.

Thanks for this extra explanation. It makes sense to do it like this. I'll adjust the post to correct this.
ROI stays the same, so still a great experiment!

That's once nice review! I also believe that this program really works. I have reserved 2 shares for the next round already. I just must remind myself that I will give one minnowshare upvote to you!
You are also due for an SBI share, but that is for next month!
Cheers,
Peter

Thanks, it's easy to make a nice review when the service is great.
It would be great if you could sponsor me a share! I also have to find someone to sponsor, so I'll surely consider sponsoring you again.

Cheers,
Erik

Congratulations @erikklok! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This sounds very interesting and I bookmarked the post to study it next weekend when I have more time!
Thanks for sharing @erikklok!!!

You're welcome!
I'm curious whether you decide to join too.

I'll let you know for sure!
If it's a project from @costanza it can't be bad ;)

I really wonder how many posts did you create in your review period?

I produced 19 posts. So between 4 and 5 a week.

So that's about 0.03 Steem per post.
In my case the return will be quite a bit lower, since I only post about 8-12 posts per month. And I don't have the intention to increase that. I'm just fine with all of us having a higher reward per post.

Indeed.
That is very much appreciated by me and other (more) frequent posters ;)
Any plans to increase your number of shares, or is it OK for you right now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99