Is bidding on upvotes worthwhile?

in #upvotes7 years ago
  • In the majority of cases, the answer is "no"; Under the best circumstances, you end up spending more than you earn back.
  • The rewards indicated on steemvoter are estimates and subject to lots of change at the very last moments. Furthermore, those estimates do not account for any special terms the person offering the upvotes may apply, such as "X percent of your bid will be applied to X or Y, not to the total value of this round of voting."
  • Your reputation score may get a slight boost. However, the value of that boost is hard to quantify.
  • To get the best deals, you have to spend a lot of time on steemvoter.com watching and bidding on only the best deals at the last minute.

Here are my takeaways:

  • Time is your most precious commodity: You're better off creating valuable content and building a real audience than lurking around steemvoter for hours to bid on a few votes.
  • If you have a gambling addiction, avoid this activity at all costs. I don't have this problem, but I know people who do and I've seen them get sucked into losing a lot of money this way.
  • It is easy to get suckered into believing you have to bid for upvotes to get ahead on steemit, but don't fall for it.

As a result of these experiences, I decided to review the content of every person who follows me and add them to a list of people who automatically receive my upvote every time they post (I'm using a premium account on steemvoter to do that). I review their posts regularly in my feed and remove people whose posts contain low-quality plagiarized or otherwise disappointing content.

For newcomers without a lot of steem, steem dollars, or steempower, just do this process manually. Spend a significant amount of time reading, following or muting other peoples work. Leave lots meaningful of comments. Upvote other peoples work. Ultimately this site is about creating a personal relationship with the community. People who try to cheat the system ultimately cheat themselves.

Sort:  

Thanks for the post and reminder to dig a little deeper while on this platform. Thanks for all the upvotes you give me, its appreciated. I enjoy writing and this is just the tip of the iceberg for me. I am a new mom, and find I have finally a little time for myself and this is a lot of fun to get my brain working again!

I'm glad it helps! I enjoy reading your work and that of others here. For me, this platform is a great place to practice and just enjoy writing. As for earning $, (I'm not saying this is true for others) because I already earn my living working remotely, my efforts are better spent doing more of my current work and building/growing on that.

Cool post man,
I would have put one or two images and headers on that nonetheless.
Cheers

I agree. In that case, I was "rushing" and feeling stretched to quickly publish two posts that morning. Now, I'm looking at how to shape my creative pipeline so I deliver better, more consistent, work on a regular cadence. One of the things I admire about you is that you seem to have done that; Your writing has the depth of your thoughts over a day or so (as well as your wisdom from a life of awareness).

Wow, thank you very much for the kind words!

When I say things like this to try and help people the reaction is usually bitter. This was a nice change... it says good things about you :)

Steem On my friend!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Signs point to yes

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you! +upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66