Is using an upvoter, like MinnowBooster, just tacky?

in #upvotes7 years ago

weird-al-tacky-video.jpg

I use Minnow Booster. I guess alot of people have investigated different ways of increasing their posts.

Posts tend to get hidden very quickly in the FEED. I have upvoted some posts that have originated from Minnow Booster.
I don't think I would have found them otherwise. I check the HOME feed and NEW feed a few times a day. Try to read posts that look interesting and I, also, try to support those people who I follow on a regular basis.

DQmdrR3vRdq1i2DQgJgTfVHWmHDsVA8UbZvREcHe8CvvQYU.png

I am dabbling a little bit with STREEMIAN. I am not entirely sure how it works, but I like the idea of getting in early on the UPVOTE and also utilising my CURATION earnings as much as possible.

U5dsK1VLbHj9WKnTRiUHC2Ag1Me5ZiK_1680x8400.png

Sometimes, though, when I see the MINNOWBOOSTER upvote, I just feel a little bit like I have cheated. Like I have upvoted my post, without upvoting my post. Like a cheap shot.

I feel a little bit divided about it all.

What do you think? Do you use it and think, hey, it's a helpful tool? Is it something you did use, but outgrew?

I'd love some thoughts/opinions/ideas about it.

Source images: minnowbooster, streemian and Weird Al Tacky video.

Sort:  

I think first i have to use this then i can give my opinion.
Link of this minnowbooster post me

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You know, I'd be pretty torn on this too. I write fiction books IRL, and it's a lot of the same sort of thing you see on the e-book market places.

There is simply such a massive flood of people who are all trying to do the same thing that it's very easy to get lost in the noise. It's almost impossible to stand out by virtue of talent alone. The varying quality level of those e-books is very dramatic, and yet even the ones that are legitimately brilliant, can just fad away in the noise.

My own experience is that you do have to take some kind of promotional stance to stand out and get your voice heard, but one of the keys is to remember that you can't reach everyone, so just try to reach your tribe, so to speak.

Even in those promotion's though, there's so many shady options. Like you can buy positive Amazon reviews, and that just feels nasty to me. I did that once and felt so bad about it, I scrapped the book and re-released it just so I could shove those reviews away.

You should be able to rise on your own merits, but that's not going to happen if no one hears what you are saying.

Thanks for taking the time to write that.
There is also some questions about the ethics of how they undertake their upvotes.
In all fairness, they say it is a bug ib their system.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@aftabkhan10/stop-looting-minnows-in-the-name-of-supporting-them

But, as you say, finding your niche is very important. Like a Guild type structure.

Have a good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63793.25
ETH 3410.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59