Spanish Food

I wanted to try a traditional Spanish dish. So I asked the waiter at one of the restaurants to recommend me one. He seemed to be at a loss for what to recommend. The pork dish which he recommended was rather common.

IMG20180613204503.jpg

A couple of other dishes which I tried looked and tasted more like a fusion sort of food. I had thought maybe in a town like Benalmadena, one could more easily taste authentic Spanish food.
IMG20180613204457.jpg

IMG20180613204510.jpg

According to wikipedia - Spanish cuisine is heavily influenced by regional cuisines and the particular historical processes that shaped culture and society in those territories. Geography and climate had great influence on cooking methods and available ingredients, and these particularities are still present in the gastronomy of the various regions that make up the country. Spanish cuisine derives from a complex history, where invasions of the country and conquests of new territories modified traditions and made new ingredients available.

Perhaps that is why the only food that comes to mind when people think of Spanish cuisine is Paella. Paella is a saffron rice dish combined with white fish, shrimps, squids and clams. Rice can be mixed with fish and chicken (Mixed paella) that is slow cooked for many hours until the meat falls apart easily.
2243-1266236234svMl.jpg

I tried it once. I had a bite and I almost sent it back. The rice tasted half cooked to me. But I was assured by company that that is how they prepare it and how Paella is.

On Sunday mornings, a cafe near my apartment prepare Paella in a wok so large you wouldn’t believe it. I guess it must be their Sunday Special.

The other agreed on Spanish dish is Gambas al Ajillo. It is shrimp in garlic sauce. I was assured it was very nice.
IMG20180704211504.jpg

This dish of egg-plant served with sweet dark sauce is also supposedly a Spanish dish.
IMG20180704211527.jpg

Tapas is another name that comes up when people mentioned Spanish food. A tapas is a snack, or appetizer that is served in the bar or restaurants when you order a drink. Not all bars and restaurants do that though – only those that specified ‘Tapas Bar’ in their signs.

With each order of drink, you will be served a plate of tapas. They will serve you a different snack with each order unless they run out. There is no standard tapas. Each establishment serves their own tapas. This could be a small sandwich or a couple of meatballs or whatever is on the eatery's menu.
IMG20180705131846.jpg

The other dish that is popular with diners is Espetos – barbecued sardines. Very popular on the beach front restaurants. I guess barbecued food is a problem in the normal restaurants. That is why you only see them at the beach.
IMG20180614160003.jpg

IMG20180624161157.jpg

So, these are a few examples of ‘Spanish food’ that I have come across during my visit. If you know of any other traditional Spanish food, do mention them in a comment. Thanks!

Thank you for dropping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

You might also like my previous posts: -
The Requisites for Being Successful (3)
Ronda, Malag, Spain
Life’s Little Lessons

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=quotes-haven
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=spanish-food


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

My experiences with paella have always been the same as yours - undercooked rice that tends to be soggy in areas. Not my thing.

Congratulations @quotes-haven! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you steemitboard! Much appreciated.

💡 @quotes-haven get upvote on 100% (VotingPower 8982.50).
Post can fall into a two-day rating and get a reward.

Rules for calling bot:

  • Anyone can leave an appeal under the author of the post, which is in my subscribers.
  • The bot can be called no more than 3 times in 24 hours.
  • Upvote on 95%, if the Voting Power is more than 93%. Upvote on 85% if the Voting Power is between 92% and 85%. Upvote 75% if below 85%.
  • After the Upvote of the comment, the bot votes with more VotingPower.

Thanks! Much appreciated.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @socialbutterfly.

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 16.6%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount

How about joining the Q initiative? Limited invites here!

How Cool!

You got a 3.85% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @socialbutterfly!

Help us grow, delegate today!

This post has been resteemed by Newbie Resteem Day. Feel free to reach out to us if ever we can help and keep up the awesome work!

Thank you very much for the resteem. Much appreciated. I hope more people will answer your calls to give the minnows a much needed lift. Cheers!

Hey, @quotes-haven!

I've been trying to think if I know of any traditional Spanish foods, and I keep coming up with either Mexican or Italians dishes! I wonder what that's supposed to mean? :)

Probably that I'm not that well-versed in Spanish cuisine.

I have tried Paella, in Mexico. I don't remember being impressed by it, either, but it wasn't the rice as much as it was the overall flavor. I don't know what I was expecting, but I didn't get it. This was 28 years ago, though, so a lot of that experience has faded into memory.

I wondered if Ceviche might be a Spanish dish, and from what I can tell, while it might be influenced by them, it's not. But it does follow the seafood theme that seemed to crop up in your post.

Hey, @glenalbrethsen!

Thanks for dropping by, for the upvote and comment. Much appreciated.
I guess we felt the same way about Paella. I look up Ceviche. It was mentioned that it is a Latin American dish. But then again, there are close ties between Latin America and Spain, so I won't be surprise there is some influence there - but who influenced who? :-)

That's a very good question. Supposedly the Spaniards brought some ingredients and the Peruvians took it from there, but of all the dishes I've had, Ceviche isn't quite like the rest of the Peruvian fare. I've not eaten a lot of that kind of food, but I have eaten quite a variety of Mexican cuisine and Ceviche is still different enough from the rest to make you wonder if there isn't some kind of Spanish influence there. Very good question. It looks like the historians are siding with the Peruvians on this one. :)

Never mind. We will just eat and enjoy the food. The weekend coming up. Have a great one. Cheers! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60592.45
ETH 2714.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45