Jet Lag

jet-lag-tired-dog-1.jpeg

It’s been a week since I came back from my holidays. Since then, I have never had a decent night’s sleep. I either tossed and turned in bed the whole night, then fall asleep towards dawn for a couple of hours, and then I am wide awake again. Or, I will doze off fitfully at three or four am, woke up at dawn and can’t get back to sleep again.

I don’t remember suffering from jet lag in my younger days. I could even sleep on the plane then. But nowadays, I can’t sleep on the plane, and I need a long time to get over my jet lag. This is one of the reasons why travelling does not appeal to me these days.

Imagine you go on a two weeks holiday, and when you come back, you took just as long to recover from the jet lag. Or you go on a holiday and half the time you are feeling tired. And by the time you get over your jet lag, it is time to come home. I am sure you would ask yourself why you bothered. But, luckily for me, it was a ten weeks home-stay holiday, so it wasn't so bad.

There are so many suggestions on how to get over a jet lag. One of the more common suggestions is to adjust your watch to the time of your destination, the minute you get on the plane. From there, you sleep and wake up according to the local time, so that by the time you arrived at your destination, you have already adjusted to the local time. But that won’t work if you are like me, can’t sleep on the plane.

Anyway, our body reacts differently. Mine seems to have a mind of its own, and would not listen nor react to the remedies. I guess, age plays a major role in jet lag too. I will just have to let nature takes it course. Let my body get over the jet lag at its own time.

For those who travel constantly, you will understand that sometimes you get very tired after a trip not because the trip was taxing but because you have a problem adjusting to the time difference, and getting over the jet lag.

Jet-Lag.jpg

There might be some truth in this. I don’t remember feeling jet lagged when I went to Benalmadena.

jet-lag-2.jpg

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

You might also like my previous posts: -

Food for Thought
On Happiness (2)
My Knitting
Life’s Little Lessons

Sort:  

Good luck with the sleep. I suffer from insomnia myself. Reading is the only thing that helps me tune out my thoughts. You might try over the counter melatonin. You can look it up. It may help you out

Thank you for dropping by and for your recommendation. Friends have suggested that too. However, I have resisted taking it because, I really do not like to take medicine and/or supplement. And no 2. I am not working so it doesn't matter so much if I am feeling tired in the day.
I hope this is only temporary. It was under control (most of the time) before my trip. So, I put it down to jet lag. Before the trip, I used to read for half and hour or more, then sit quietly and breathe normally for 15 to 20 minutes. I find that this helped me to sleep.
You might want to try it sometimes and see if it works for you.
Cheers!

💡 @quotes-haven get upvote on 100% (VotingPower 8259.56).
Post can fall into a two-day rating and get a reward.

Rules for calling bot:

  • Anyone can leave an appeal under the author of the post, which is in my subscribers.
  • The bot can be called no more than 3 times in 24 hours.
  • Upvote on 93%, if the Voting Power is more than 93%. Upvote on 83% if the Voting Power is between 92% and 85%. Upvote 73% if below 85%.
  • After the Upvote of the comment, the bot votes with more VotingPower.

Age and jet lag are a bad combination. I prefer train travel for that reason - among others - but it is very limited here in the US.

Never mind. I will live. :-)

This post has been upvoted by @microbot with 9.9%!
You want higher upvotes?

Vote for my creator @isnochys as witness!

Did you know, that you can make some profit with your witness vote?
More profits? 100% Payout! Delegate some SteemPower to @microbot: 1 SP, 5 SP, 10 SP, custom amount

How about joining the Q initiative? Limited invites here!

How Cool!

You got a 4.76% upvote from @coolbot courtesy of @socialbutterfly!

Help us grow, delegate today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49