New Upvoting Strategy! I'm Giving Away Upvotes To Those Who Comment!

in #upvote7 years ago

It's become clear that upvotes, if used properly, can provide bigger returns than just upvoting your own posts and comments.

Steemit provides an interesting platform that is first and foremost a social site but it also has real money to be earned. This changes the way you should engage if you are trying to maximize your time on the site.

I don't believe spamming to get votes is going to be a profitable method here.

Also, I don't believe that just upvoting your own comments and posts are going to take you as far as you could go.

Upvotes are mini investments that should be properly allocated such as an investment portfolio.

It's generally a bad idea to put all your eggs in one basket and upvotes are no different.

So let's look at the different baskets you have when it comes to upvotes:

  1. Your Posts
  2. Your Comments
  3. Others Posts
  4. Others Comments

First, remember you have 10ish full upvotes per day. (I believe the actual # is 12 / day but not entirely sure)

  1. Your Posts
    Yes, it does make sense to upvote your own posts to a degree.If you post 1 time per day, then you should upvote your own post for sure. Then you will have 9 more full upvotes for other types of engagement.If you post 20 times per day, then you should upvote some (3-5) of your posts but not all of them. If you tried to upvote 20 or your own posts per day, you wouldn't have any left for any other content and it would be a matter of time before your voting weight goes to zero.

  2. Your Comments
    This starts to get a bit tricky but there is still lots of value in upvoting your own comments.
    The main benefit is that when you upvote your own comment your position on the comment thread is increased. Your comment shows towards the top of the tread which greatly increase the chance of engagement you receive which is good for you. The drawback is if people view you as greedy and out for yourself, then you can attract some unwanted attention.

  3. Others Posts
    To be honest, I haven't seen that there is a ton of value in upvoting others posts. It's a great way to show support for quality content that you enjoy, but don't expect much back from that. However, you should show support for every post that you comment on with an upvote. I prefer partial upvotes from 25-50% depending on the quality of the content. Rarely will I give a full upvote to a post. I will spend the rest of my voting power on the comments on the post.

  4. Others Comments
    This is where you can get the most benefit. You have to be into giving to hand out upvotes that you could have kept for yourself. This really shows your character and your dedication to the community. My suggestion is spend most of your time as you're building your account, upvoting other peoples comments. This is the best way to attract new followers and create engagement on your own threads.

27048265_1588652194554876_208488218_o.jpg

Here is how I'm looking to allocate my voting power moving forward:

  1. (2) 100% Upvotes / day for my own posts
  2. (2) 100% Upvotes / day for my own comments
  3. (2) 50% Upvotes / day for my own comments
  4. (4) 25% Upvotes / day on others posts
  5. (8) 25% Upvotes / day on others comments
  6. (20) 10% Upvotes / day on others comments

This is something I'm going to shoot for but not guarenteed to happen everyday. If executed properly this will split my upvoting power 50/50 (me/others).

I will test for a while and see how things go.

If you have any feedback on this type of strategy, please let me know.

Also, what upvoting strategy do you use?

Sort:  

Hey @brettcalloway

It's certainly your call on what you choose to do with your stake.

My method is to upvote my own posts ( once a day or less is my average), mostly at 100%, especially the ones that take hours. A few comments each week, mainly to push them up to the top as I see my comment occasionally being the most relevant.

The rest on others posts, comments (mainly comments on my own blogs), which totals about 90% of my vote each week.

Good luck!

Thanks @abh12345

It's something I'm going to be testing and see how it goes. I'm flexible and will likely adjust one way or another as things progress.

I appreciate your feedback and support! I'll hit you with a follow and try to send some value your way on some of your posts!

Thanks again!

Good stuff, keep fiddling until you find what suits I guess. Cheers!

there are some people who have no idea and he uses this method (spamming).
but what you share is very nice and useful
thank you for sharing my friend @brettcalloway

Thanks for the feedback! I've seen who I think you're talking about. I'm not sure that's going to work long-term, especially when the votes aren't worth anything because all the voting power is used up. This method is more controlled which means the votes will carry some weight. We'll see how it goes. :)

Very interesting! Thanks for the insight! Will definitely implement!

Awesome! Let me know how it goes...

@team-solutions has re-steemed your post :)
Thanks for the great content!
Very helpful post. I am terrible with computers and never make time to look in to it more(not thick, just not my thing so takes its toll on my brain)

Thanks for the comment and resteem!

Will be trying this out, how do you know you're giving full or partial upvotes tho? Guess so far i'd just been winging it :).

The full and partial upvote option goes into effect once you have at least 500 steem power. Until then, options are a bit limited. :-)

I was about asking this question. I'm new on here and i guess there's a limit to how much you could earn as a newbie here. thanks for the formular though, i'll use it the way i can regardless.

Thanks

Interesting. I will be following, let me know how this strategy works!

Respectfully yours,

Jacob A. Billett, M.B.A
CEO Billett Enterprises, Inc.

WANT MORE VOTES AND FOLLOWS?

Sign up for these free applications and get GUARANTEED upvotes and followers!

SteemFollowerhttps://steemfollower.com/?r=8690

SteemEngine https://steemengine.net/join?r=340

Thanks for sharing

not bad

Thanks!

Thanks for this. All the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15