Fundraising Campaign -- Statement

in #update6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I asked a lot of you to help a fellow Steemian who we thought was also an army veteran by writing fundraising posts. I asked those of you who I knew pretty well and who wouldn't have conflicting issues. All of you, being good people, said yes.

The fundraiser was for Bobby aka @solarparadise who is still losing his vision. He's not a veteran; he was an army contractor (the type that deployed with the troops overseas) and because, as we all know, telling everyone you're enlisted is the best way to attract women, he started that whole thing with his wife. If I'm wrong on this I'll correct myself later.

I'm not making excuses here, I'm just telling you what I know and what I see.

Refunds

Bobby and his wife sent back all donations because they don't want them under false pretenses. You can read their latest post here. They didn't know there'd be fundraising efforts here on that scale. Organized mass-fundraising never happened before.

Actions speak louder than words. Have you ever seen anyone send SBD/STEEM back? Hell no. That's the first in the history of the blockchain.

Excellent People

Holy shit are there some amazing people here on the blockchain. Many had nothing to do with the veteran community and weren't vets. They're just good, giving people.

It was me who asked everyone to make fundraising posts so in the end I accept all responsibility. It was also me who started the mass-campaign because I'm the type that gets shit done. I don't talk (those of you who asked me to go on your Discord shows to debate various things know this).

I messaged the following people, in no particular order, all of whom readily accepted:
@enginewitty
@shadowspub
@bethalea
@sgt-dan
@underground
@erodedthoughts
@phelimint
@snook
@jasonbu
@derangedvisions
@lexikon082
@jackmiller

Others, like @schattenjaeger, just donated and posted without being approached. No recognition required, just compassion.

You can see the entire list of donors here: https://steemit.com/@solarparadise/transfers

Message to Bobby

Some will send back their refunds. Keep them and tell us if you need help.


Like what we're doing? Support us as a Witness.
Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
At the bottom, type in guiltyparties
Click VOTE


Sort:  

@guiltyparties: You asked me to donate, and to a man who needed eye surgery, and was a vet. Ypu also paid me a great compliment by asking for my help, and these funds will be DONATED Regardless. He is not an actual veteran, but he is still in need of critical eye surgery. I am OK with it if he will accept the funds, of course it will be at payout in about 5 days, 22 hours. Call it 6 days, I might need until the next day LOL!!! I said the 2 things are near and dear to me, and I have been blind in both eyes THREE TIMES. I'm still willing to help! ;)

greeting, you I answer that it is very good, also in the form as explains the information and as head office to adopt a position before all

aaaahhhh we still take care of support pukes personnel . We belong to a large community here and supporting each other in many different ways is what this is all about . I would be offended if the steem I sent was returned . However I reserve the right sometime in the distant future to say "dumbass"
My best wishes to him and his family .

"Holy shit are there some amazing people here on the blockchain. Many had nothing to do with the veteran community and weren't vets. They're just good, giving people." Message to Bobby
Some will send back their refunds. Keep them and tell us if you need help. <<< This has me following you.
I refuse to slam/shame or throw any stones, that is not my job as a human, helping hands to help a human out is what I have seen so many times here at Steemit, it is the major difference between other sites and here.

Thank you and that's a great way of thinking. That's kinda how I see the whole thing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29