UN(dis)TALENTED: Leaning Model Fitness Sketch by @bxlphabet

in #untalented6 years ago

A model poses in a wonderful way to stretch out your back, legs, and upper body. This model is a young and healthy dancer being sketched by my son @bxlphabet at an art camp.

Unfortunately for those of us with obesity or chronic pain, this pose is not possible.

leaning model by @bxlphabet.jpg

When I first started working with a fitness trainer to lose weight, he wanted me to do this a few times a day. I explained I had a large stomach, could barely move or balance, and that this was not possible for me.

So we modified!

I started by only learning as far as I could with a chair or table in front of me for balance and support when needed. Over time, and as the weight came off, I got further and further and had more confidence doing it.

Finally on one awesome day, I could get my hands to the ground and be comfortable in this position.

Now, years after losing the weight, my stomach is no long the issue. But sometimes chronic pain and balance problems still make this hard for me to do. So still I modify and get the benefit anyway.

Yesterday, I showed another sketch by @bxlphabet, showing a different and easier pose. Good health is all about doing the best you can, when you can, and this is what I try to do. I'm not trying to be perfect. I am just trying to keep the gains I have made now.

But in the beginning of my journey to health, it was these very small actions, done with persistence that helped the most.

I hope you will do the same if you are having trouble getting started on change. The cavalry is not coming and we need to take action ourselves.

The text of this post is inspired by @bxlphabet's beautiful sketch. I know he will love this combination of effort if he sees it. I hope he will. I miss my son and his collaboration so much. ~ @fitinfun


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76