Who Am I @surpassinggoogle's untalented contest

Who Am I

I am secretive, alarmingly so. I often keep truths away from even myself. I am the man who never tells any one person everything about me. I am also open to change, so perhaps I’ll try telling a community. 

I am an introvert, and resultantly often antisocial. I like to keep my circle small, but I’m not sure if that’s because I’m antisocial, an introvert, or it’s a matter of choice. What I do know, is that the last attempt to widen my circle ended horribly. 

I am the boy who fought with insomnia for about half a decade, counting how many hours of sleep I got in a week on one hand. I am the man who still has nightmares that the insomnia will come back with a vengeance when I least expect it. I am the man who feels I’m ready for it, but knows I’m not. 

I am the boy who struggled with self esteem for years, because his body goofed and forgot which complexion it wanted. I am the boy who couldn’t use my own face as my display picture for years. I am the boy who cried his eyes out when he saw "the goof" spread to his hands, then assured his entire family he was fine.

I am the boy who tried multiple short term fixes like makeup, but was damn near destroyed when someone close to me remarked, "Thank goodness your're normal again".

I am the man who has learnt to deal with the cards life dealt him, with the support of people who don’t realize just how much they help me. I have also learnt to deal with the people close to me who disappoint me by breaking down my esteem in their own misguided, though well meaning ways.

I am the man who fears when he will lose that unwitting support, and be forced to fight his own battles.

I am the man who questions his faith, far more than would be considered “normal”. I am the man who often ends up at the right answer, but dreads the day that he won’t. 

I am the man who hopes he has finally figured out the meaning of life, or whatever solution will keep his existential crises at bay. 

I am the man who can’t help but worry constantly as soon as someone leaves my sight, they might die. Conversely though, I am the man who is always filled with joy whenever I see someone return, often forgetting whatever tiffs that might have existed between us.

I am the man who plays more than he works, but works enough to play comfortably. I feel like life owes me great things, but I often forget I have to fight for it.

I am a man who is terrible at writing and drawing, so rather than scar the good people of Steemit with one of my crude stick figures, I shall instead upload a regular picture of my awesomely flawed ChocoVanilla face.

So Steemit, save for everything I forgot and/or edited out, this is who I am. 

Much Love,

Barrister Batman/ChocoStrawBear/Saint Ice/Cobra Commando/D Harbinger/Toks/T Money/SlackerMan


Sort:  

Nothing takes more guts than to step out in public and tell the world, "This is who I am."

I wish my upvote could be worth more than a few cents. You're strong and brave as hell. Never let the world take that from you. Who you are and what you can accomplish in life should never be determined by skin pigmentation or lack thereof on any portion of our bodies.

Untalented? Bullshit. You can write powerfully. 90% of the people posting on Steemit wish they could be as eloquent as you are, tap into that raw emotion, and shape it into the letters and spaces and words you put forth.

I'll give you introverted, scared, worried, questioning, low self esteem, and unsure, because those are on my own personal list of flaws too. I know what they look like. I know what they feel like. I can empathize.

But untalented? Hell no. Hell no.

I know what 'untalented' looks like, and it does not look like you.

I've gotta admit, I didn't know how to respond to this when I saw it. None of the pep talks I've ever given myself even at the worst of times have ever been as effective as this.

Thank you, is what I'm going for I think. Just, thank you.

And Upvote aside, your comment was worth a million per letter.

I hope you have a great... everything

You're welcome.

I don't know if you're a fan of science fiction, but for years now I've felt the best way to respond to a compliment is to heed the words of The Doctor as portrayed by William Hartnell in his first incarnation on Doctor Who in 1964:

Just go forward in all your beliefs, and prove to me that I am not mistaken in mine.

Kinda says it all, I think. :)

Indeed it does. 👍

You are so on point. Bless!

we like your post keep it up>and upvote and follow u<get back
thanks ..best off luck

Bruuuuh
" I am a man who is terrible at writing and drawing"
I don't know about your 'drawing' but your writing??? My mahn, you're damn near flawless. Stay Strong G 👊🏾

😀😀

Thanks for this bro, it means a lot.

"Damn near flawless"...I just might frame this, lol.

Hahhhah that would be awesome! 😁

Being true to yourself makes you more stronger
Accepting who you are make you great!
You know better to yourself and what really you wanted!

My support
Keep steeming!

Thank you for the kind words friend, they're much appreciated. Once you're in tune with yourself, the sky's the limit.

Cheers

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

@barrister-batman - You have shared with us such a powerful and courageous post, an unguarded, unprotected view of the outer shell and the inner man. You have invited us, as a community of strangers, to receive and hold very sacred information, and to respond to you according to a resonant chord that harmonizes within each soul. What you call your choco-vanilla face (my favorite flavors) goes by a different name, a different description, and has a different source of shame in another person's life. So the name of the thing , whatever it is, has no meaning and does not matter. Call it the changeling that cannot disguise its true identity. Fear. We all know it. We've all wrestled in that arena. Some of us are wrestling now. And the fact that you have boldly given fear its place in the spotlight and dared it to sing its taunting song closes the show and brings down the curtains. Then we, the audience, rise up to acknowledge and embrace you. In trusting us, you declare that you believe we are worthy of this honor and can be trusted. Your faith in us elevates us. Therefore we thank you.

And thank you, Sarah. This is beautifully written. And yes, as it once was for me, it is still Fear to many people. I would love nothing more than to help as many souls as I can.

and the fact that you have bold given fear its place in the spotlight and dared it to sing its taunting song>

I think this literally gave me chills. Your first ever post BETTER be poetry, or anything creative.

Thanks again @sarahspeaks144, keep steeming

Thank you @barrister-batman. Because you wrote so compellingly, your words brought forth my words. Each soul responds to its own truth.

Thank you for the great post..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 66884.44
ETH 3466.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19