MY MOTHER IS A RARE GEM (#untalented-mama)

Sweet Mother

This story that I’m about to tell you might not have an end because the person I will be talking about is a living legend and a legend that everyone would love to have around. I’m not talking about anybody else but the human angel that brought @optimistdehinde into this world.

This post is dedicated to my mother MRS.OSHO FOLASHADE ARIKE and Mama Ajayi (@surpassinggoogle’s mother) and the entire mothers in the world.

Now someone might be wondering why we are celebrating mothers on this #untalented contest when is not mother’s day? But I will like to tell you this breaking new that angels like mothers should not be celebrated only on mother’s day but EVERYDAY. Thanks to @surpassinggoogle and #untalented family for coming up with this contest. I personally see this as an opportunity to further say a big THANK YOU to my mother for taking it upon herself to be my mother when the opportunity came. It is a rare privilege that I will cherish for a very long time.

INTRODUCTION
My mother’s name is MRS. OSHO FOLASHADE ARIKE (nee Ogunbanjo), native of Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu Ode Local Government in Ogun State, South West, Nigeria. She was born in a polygamous family, and the only remaining daughter of her late mother. She is presently in her late sixties, and ready to spend another 60 more years before leaving planet earth. Due to her family back ground she was only able to attend secondary school.

But because of her passion for education she retired from the civil service as a non-teaching staff after 35 years of actively serving her father’s land called Nigeria. She is now a pensioner. She raised her children as a single mother. She gave birth to 7 Children (5 girls and 2 boys which include twin girls). She lost 3 of these children i.e. the twins and a boy and that is the reason why I am his only son. She is a disciplinarian. She does not condole indiscipline and laziness.

Iya Mi (My Beautiful Mother)

HER PASSION AND GOAL
One of her passion and goal in life is to make sure that all her children at least have a first degree certificate and as am writing this post that has become a reality. She did everything in her power to make sure that she achieved. Let me quote her now “if I am not wearing any fine cloths now that is because I will wear them later when my cloths (her children) are ready then nobody will mock or ridicules me anymore”. Of a truth, that has become a reality.

HER SACRIFICES
I remember day that my mother will take cooperative loan from the office to pay my school fee in the university and that was how he paid for everyone’s school. At a point she does not have good cloths to wear even to parties. All she was wearing then are rags just because he wants us to get good education and live a good life. I can recall a particular days when there was not enough Gari (dry grounded cassava) to make Eba for everybody and no money to buy more, then my mummy went to bed without eating in as much as we have eaten. In fact she does that several. What I’m trying to say is that only a mother will do all.

During my son's naming ceremony

AN ACTIVIST
My mother hate cheating and I think I got that from her. She would do anything to fight for her right and the right of other. I remember the story of one my friend then in secondary school who was been maltreated because she does not have a mother to defend him. Immediately I told my mother how they are about to cheat the boy. My mother took it upon herself to represent the boy and the case was resolved. She did that so many times to even people she does not know. Sometime we her children will have to caution her anytime she starts her human right activism.

HER PHILOSOPHIES AND PROVERBS OF WARNING
She believes that everyone has the tendency of becoming great in life. So, don’t look down on anybody because that person might be the one that will help you later in life. She teaches her children respect for everyone. You will find that trait in her children.

For example, just like the Nigeria culture or should I say common among the Yoruba tribe is that you address your elderly ones with Sis.(Sister) and Bro.(Brother) as a prefix to their names before calling them e.g. Bro. Terry or Sis. Stellabelle (lol) which is a sign of respect for an elder. But some family feels if someone is older than you with 4 or 5 years that is when you should do that. But in my own family, my mother will always say that even if the person is older than you with just a day you must still add that prefix and my siblings and I are all use to that. As far as she is concern that is respect.

My mother and my mother in-law (during her surprised birthday celebration)

Some of her notable quotes are:
In my language first after calling my name 3 times: Ranti omo eni ti iwo n se (meaning “remember the child of whom you are”) as simple as that saying is, anytime I remember I quickly check myself and behave (you know what I mean).

My mother is a kind of woman that uses eyes signals to talk to her children and you must understand it if you don’t want to get spanked at home or later (lol). She learnt that from my grandmother.

Her favorite prayer is: Oni joko ti ika (You will not sit with the wicked ones)

I can continue to write and write things about my mother and will not stop because she means so much to me. I want tell her that all her dreams are coming to past through her children’s growth in all ramification..

Thanking God for gift of life

Her love for me being the only son was so much that I was scared. Why? Because I was thinking about what she would do when I finally get married. She would say and pray prayers like this “the wife that you will marry will love me” and I always pray that the wife that I will marry will be like my mother in some aspect. Do you know that God answered that prayer? How?

My wife shares the same middle name with my mother and also shares the same birthday date with my mother. So every year I celebrate the date the birthday of 2 most important women in my life on the same day. The love between them I can’t even understand myself. Sometimes I’m always jealous. Are mine not a lucky man? Yes I am. Lol…

Presently she is having 9 grandchildren and 2 of them are already graduates. Sincerely, God has really blessed her for me

I pray she will live to see more years in earth. I am using her as a point of contact to Mama Ajayi (@surpssinggoogle’s mother)that she will overcome this sickness and be strong again (Amen). And to all mother of the world I celebrate you all.

Don’t forget what I said at the beginning “EVERY MOTHER DESERVES TO BE CELEBRATED EVERYDAY and not just mother’s day.
I love you MAAMI (my mother)

The video below is a song I remix for all mothers. Please enjoy it.


My cover of the popular children poem "My Mother by Ann Taylor"

Thank you once again @surpassinggoogle, @steemgigs and #untalented family for this great idea. I’m really proud to be part of this family.

Do you have some free witness vote? Consider voting for @steemgigs as witness.

Steemgigs is an online marketplace in Steemit where you can trade goods and services. It is the brainchild of our dear @surpassingoogle who is also the host of #untalented.

To vote for Steemgigs, go to the witness page https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Scroll down and enter @steemgigs in the box and click on vote:

Thank you all for taking out time to visit my blog. Don't forget to drop your comment.

Sort:  

I really loved how you talked about your mum. Nice bro!

Thank you Bro. Thank you mothers are just special and should be celebrated. Thanks for dropping by

u welcom bro. *Mama's are wonderful.

The love of a mother is so incomparable.
Nice one

This post received a 8% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @optimistdehinde! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

I really liked your information, if you want you can see my first post

thank you. You can also join the contest.

This post has received a 1.68 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @optimistdehinde. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63049.68
ETH 3022.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50