You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 26: Kids Don't Need School to Learn to Read (Learning to read is as natural as learning to walk.)

in #unschooling7 years ago

Thanks for this, is schooling not mandatory there? I agree with you. Same with music, my teacher told me that the instrument is merely a tool with which to express your art.

Sort:  

Sounds like you have an excellent teacher.

Your question is a good one. In typical, ambiguous, bureaucratic fashion, it both is and isn't mandatory. Go figure. The definition of tyranny. Not crazy Fascist laws defined clearly, but ill-defined rules backed by arbitrary and brutal state violence/"consequences."

There are a few homeschooling groups here, though, and many people do it. I am planning to write more about that soon.

Thanks for the comment!

Please let me know when you do. Here in Virginia I figured out a "legal" way to get around compulsory high school for my children. There are ways around the system, but the people working within the system do not tell you the process. I'd love to remove my children completely from government schools, but it just isn't possible. They can skip high school completely though using the process I figured out. :)

Any sabotage is good sabotage when it comes to this issue and taking the power back, my friend. Our kids are everything. I am glad to hear you found a way.

Thanks for the comment @finnian, why do you want to remove your kids from government schools, just curious? Do you feel the same about private schools?

They are indoctrination camps. One teacher told one of my sons, "It's not okay for one person to be more successful than someone else." That's the type of garbage they teach while your children are in school.

I prefer private tutors, but that's very expensive. Private schools would be better. It depends on the parent's choice and what's best for the children. I do not believe school should be mandatory in anyway.

Let the parents decide and a free market provide. All my children need to do is learn to read and write. After knowing those two things, they can teach themselves everything else they need to learn to be successful.

In the city where I live there is this one school, not really a school, it is like home schooling but in one place. So kids from different families go there. But yeah what you explain there is very extreme, sounds pretty bad. I can see how someone can think like that, but it does not reflect reality at all.

I went to a really good private school in Washington DC for 6th and 7th grade. and then I went to Harvard later. The rest of the time I was in public schools. The difference is stark. In private or liberal arts settings they actually teach you how to think critically and make up your own mind about things, at least it is supposed to.

Which is completely different from what you are describing there, where the goal is kind of to make everyone think the same. And then I would place vocational training in a completely different category - things like learning how to be a plumber, electrician, blacksmith, computer programmer.

I feel that all of these different types of skills or approaches or ideologies get muddled together sometimes and people get confused about what education is even all about. And unfortunately, I think then it becomes a race to the bottom, as the easiest way out is likely always gonna be to just revert to a state-sponsored kind of conditioning.

Takes away people's creativity a lot of the times I think. You need to be pretty creative to be self employed or start a business. Better for govt maybe if you are an employee in a big company because then you pay more tax.

Thanks for your comment @kafkanarchy84. Yeah he is good, he spends all his time maintaining his website, www.studybass.com.

Funny how you say it is, and isn't mandatory. So its like damned if you do, damned if you don't? I am really curious about Japan, and what it must be like to live there. How long have you been there?

Been here for seven years now.

Cool are you intending to stay permanently?

I'm new to steemit. I'm from Ukraine. I try my best to make money on this. So you help me very important.
I'm already following you. Please check my blog on this link and vote.
https://steemit.com/photography/@viphh2017/caught-a-goldfish

This is a spam comment unrelated to this post. Just so you know, I usually flag comments like this. It is nothing personal, but just letting you know. If you want to promote your posts, or reach out to another user, Steemit chat is a good place to do it. That, or leave a link to one of your posts that adds value and is related to the post you are commenting on. Cheers, and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51