You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling: A Basic Guide for Early Education (Prek-5th grade)

@kindredacres you nailed it with the understanding that each child is different, and if you just support them they will amaze you in what they can accomplish within their chosen motivations. My son @aurynthenorse decided when he was young a schedule matters to him. "Is that a mommy minute or a real minute?" was something he came up with by 5 because he already realized my concept of time and his concept of time didn't mesh. As soon as he was old enough to keep up with a watch and ask for one, we got him one. Now at 13 I have him set alarms for me, or help keep me on track. It's fundamentally opposite of my nature, but noticing it and working with it has helped us both in my opinion. My reiki master told me many, many years ago that in every situation you are the student AND the teacher, and if you walk away without seeing both of those you missed something. It's nice to remind myself of that from time to time, especially as a home educator. I learn just as much as the kids do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60675.01
ETH 2605.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64