You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling: A Basic Guide for Early Education (Prek-5th grade)

in #unschooling5 years ago

This truly is a great post that covers soooo much! I have been homeschooling for seven years and recently have looked closer at the unschooling approach. Although I feel we do unschooling naturally, I want to dive into it a little more due to recently finding out our six year old son is right brained. I have been struggling for awhile trying to figure out what is going on and why it’s been so hard for him to comprehend things, especially because he’s such a bright boy. I now have to change my method of teaching for him so that he comprehends better. He is such a visual person that loves computers so that will be my main go to with him.

Another reason I wanted to approach this method more is the fact my kids are a bit bored with everyday curriculum. We decided we will still keep their curriculum but venture off more into what they are interested in which we too feel is very important. We will be doing half their curriculum to add in more interest based learning.

You have given so much valuable info here that I will have to reread again. Thank you for sharing your insights and experiences, it is very informing and encouraging especially for a mom and teacher like me that has to change things up a bit :)

Sort:  

We use Oak Meadow curriculum out of Vermont, but there is still plenty of "wiggle room" in how we follow it. There are 36 weeks worth of lessons but the kids are not doing every assignment of every week. Depending on many different factors, they read and comprehend the knowledge but don't need all of the assignments to show that they are retaining the knowledge. One of the perks I remind them of with homeschooling is that they get all their school work done during school hours, instead of doing all the school hours and then having lots of homework. Thanks for the great response, @crosheille. This post will now be my "go-to" when I get asked again about homeschooling, because the only unknown is when the next time will happen!! I look forward to trading tips and tricks with you along the steem trail!

Yep! This is why we take on that approach. We use our curriculum as a “source” or “guide” when we need it. If I see the kids have mastered a concept we move on. This is why I feel we only need to half of the curriculum to help keep me structured but it will give us more time to do other things. Observing our kids and taking note is so important in assessing what they need to learn and compared to what they already know and understand.

One of the perks I remind them of with homeschooling is that they get all their school work done during school hours, instead of doing all the school hours and then having lots of homework.

Beautifully said and I love this perk about homeschooling :D

I look forward to that too ~ 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86