You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Off grid goats

in #unplug6 years ago

Omg that little goat in the sink!!!! Soooooooooooooo cute awwwwww!! Almost makes me like goats...almost...the perpetual 3 year old thing is what keeps me from even entertaining the idea of raising them. They really annoy me!! Plus, like you mentioned, they are incredible escape artists and they eat everything!!

Though that cheese I saw of yours last year....seemed pretty convincing that goats may be a good idea!

Sort:  

Omg that little goat in the sink!!!!

That was my fav part too. I now want a goat b/c of this post ...

I must admit, they can be frustrating, but they are very loving animals. They will lean right in for a pet and some of them will follow you around the yard everywhere. They love flower beds and gardens, so efforts have to be made to protect the food and beauty. My mother-in-law has protective fencing up in front of her house to protect her flowers in the summer.

In the end, the relationship teaches us a lot. That is why we do it right! The kids are adorable and I love them all. The cheese is amazing too! We will have babies again this spring, so if anybody wants to get a goat ... ;) hahaha

The cheese is amazing too! We will have babies again this spring, so if anybody wants to get a goat

omg, this is happening too fast .. lol

I would need to spend a summer with you @wwf so I have all the tricks of the trade figured out beforehand. Also, I need to find some land to steward first. I doubt raising a goat in a condo would be wise.

Yes, condo boards tend to frown on barn yard animals being tenants as well!

Now that's a pic I'd love to see FTG and his baby goat :) :) :)

LOL, here's a sneak preview

ftg-holding-lamb.png

hahahaha. Beautiful! Hey, if you want to come out and spend a week here, for you the gate is open and consider the invitation sent! Lots of hard work and lots to learn!

@wwf, wow! Thank you sooooo much for the invite. I am grateful and will try to do so once summer returns. Me and cold weather don't get along too well since my natural habitat is tropical.

You are welcome. My natural habitat is winter, so I'm in my element right now. I really suffer in the heat. I could probably move further north and be just fine with it all! I look forward to seeing you this summer.

BWA HAHHAHAHAA This is the JOY that you brought me!! Foooookin killin' myself over here hahhahahaaa!!!!

bwahahahaha. This thread is brightening my day. hahahaha

lol :)

Really made my day :) I'll be chuckling for hours, hahaha, I was not expecting you to come through for that one lololol!!

The Struggle is REAL!!

This is awesome!!! Bahahaha

I read a book titled Goodbye My Subaru, about this guy who decides to go from city life to homesteading in New Mexico. The stories about his goats are pretty hilarious. I think it was a rose bush that was like the one decorative plant on his homestead and he liked it and the goats wanted to eat it, and the lengths he went to to keep them away from it (that perpetually failed)...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14