Question: Unity Game Development Tutorials

in #unity8 years ago (edited)

Question for the Steemit community interested in games and game development:

Before I ask the question though, I want to preface this by saying that posting game development tutorials is not a competition; there have been some really good, quality posts by others in our community on principles, practices and programming. Having multiple resources is not a bad thing and having a strong game developer community as part of the Steemit community strengthens the community as a whole, in my view.

Better yet, as the community grows we could also work together to provide even better resources and examples.

So the question is: assuming that you are interested in learning how to make games with Unity would you prefer posts that use screen shots and text, or would you prefer videos linked to some video provider like YouTube or Vimeo?

This isn't a promise that I would start doing it, but I'm definitely curious about the current interest level of the Steemit community.

Sort:  

I personally like screenshots and text. It's easier to search and skim. And reading is generally faster than watching a video.

Noted @theoretical, thanks for your input!

I agree with @theoretical but I do like what @dwinblood has been doing where he makes the video and then writes a detailed tutorial with screenshots as well. Also his son @theanubisrider does much the same.
I'm not trying to discourage you, I honestly believe the more tutorials on here the better. Everyone has a different style and does some things differently which some might value more than others. I hope you do move forward with this and can't wait to see what you come up with.

Noted @jbaker585, thanks for your input! It seems that doing a combination of both might be the way to go if I pursue it.

You're welcome! Also keep an eye on SteemQ being made @furion. It's basically YouTube on the Steem block-chain, could very valuable for things like this when it's released. Check it out!

Awesome! Will do, thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57440.51
ETH 2911.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66