[Unity Game Development Tutorial: 9] - Assets for Game Controllers and assets for Low Poly Games

in #unity8 years ago (edited)

There are many game genres out there. Which assets might be beneficial to you really depends upon what type of game you are going to be making.

There are a lot of different types of games on the market. Which type of game you are wanting to make can dictate whether certain assets might be beneficial to you. Some of the assets I mention here I do not own Yet as they were not critical to any specific project. When that is the case I'll make certain to indicate it.

Character Controllers


How input works, how the camera moves, and what you see is a critical component to making any game. There are a lot of specialized controller setups depending upon what your goals are.

For Adventure, Visual Novel, and other point and click games


You should consider Adventure Creator which I referenced in this tutorial. You can also consider the free asset called Fungus as it may do just what you need. Since it is free you certainly should consider it. Fungus was mentioned in this tutorial.

Third Person Movement and other popular movement


There are two popular packages for Third Person and RPG style movement. They are good for tactical games and other techniques. I own both of these controller packages and I personally have not settled on which one I like the most. The first one I am going to show seems to come with the most options out of the single asset, but I am not convinced yet that it is the easier to extend. I had a friend tell me it was after I already owned the second, but I think I am going to need to test out that and verify it myself.

Third Person Controller


This controller is ready for multiplayer, had build in inventory management, combat system, included movement animations and various other animations, and more. It is a popular one that frequently recommended by people. I have used it and it does work well. It is very likely to be the controller I use on my big fantasy project mentioned in this post. Though I am still going to consider Motion Controller v2 as well. This Third Person Controller is made by Opsive and it has integration steps and work with a lot of other assets on the asset store. It is also designed to interface with Behavior Designer which is also made by Opsive. UFPS which will be mentioned shortly was also recently acquired by Opsive so they will be the ones developing that package as well.
Third Person Controller is $75 on the unity asset store and can be found here. It does seem to go on sale several times throughout the year.








Motion Controller v2


This is the competitor to the Third Person Controller above. It is a nice controller and indicates in it's product description that this controller is component based and flexible and can support any type of character from humans, cats, aliens, and race cars. I need to play around with extending it, as which controller is easier for me to add more custom motions and animations to will determine which I ultimately end up using. This does offer some exciting possibilities in it's documentation.

This asset is made by ootii and can be found on the asset store for $65 by clicking here.



First Person Controllers


First person controllers are another very popular way to play games. Originally made famous by such titles as Wolfenstein 3D, Doom to later on be the common playing style of games like Call of Duty, Counter Strike, Insurgency, Unreal Tournament, Half-Life, and many many others. It is a very popular controller style.

UFPS: Ultimate FPS


I do not own this controller. Yet, any time I hear people talking about First Person Controllers this seems to be the go to asset everyone talks about. It was recently acquired by Opsive who are the makers of the Third Person Controller listed above, so I would not be surprised to see a lot of cross pollination of ideas between the two products in the future. You can try out the Web Demo using FireFox by clicking here. I do plan on buying this myself in the near future.
UFPS can be found on the asset store for $75 and can be purchased or reviewed here.




Here are some games that used UFPS



Car Controls


If you want to take car movement and controls to the top level there are a number of assets. I do now own any of these as car control is not a factor in any of my current projects. It is also not likely to be critical in any possible projects I am aware of at the moment. I do not own any of the assets in this section.

Realistic Car Controller


I frequently see this controller come up as recommended it is 5/5 stars with 192 reviews at the time I am making this post. It comes with 9 configured vehicle prefabs ready to use. It supports mesh deformations upon collision.
This asset can be reviewed or purchased for $50 by clicking here to visit the asset store.






Flight Controller


Perhaps it is airplanes that you need a controller for. There are a lot of different controllers for those as well. I do not own any controllers of this nature. I am going to show you one that has good reviews here.

Flight Kit


This kit is billed as "a complete flight simulator with emphasis on great look and fun gameplay."
It can be reviewed and purchased for $29.50 by clicking here and visiting the asset store.

Refined Airplane Control


Added in as an Edit
This is another controller that came as an asset store Staff Pick. It added another option for this type of controller so I wanted to make sure to add it here.
This can be reviewed or purchased on the asset store for $19 by clicking here.




Low Poly Game Packs


I have recently acquired a lot of Low Poly game packs. They give a lot of content and should prove useful prototyping or even building a lot of games if you are fine with the art style. The art style is fun enough for me and they have so much content I can rapidly develop a lot of ideas.

Simple Series - Synty Studios


Synty Studios has a lot of packs that all play great together. I own all but two or three of their products now. You can see their complete list here.

There are two big bundle packs that include a lot of content in each one. I'd be remiss if I didn't show those to you. This is also a very different art style from what I've shown in previous asset store related tutorials.

Simple World - Volume One


This pack was my entry into this collection of assets. I happened to get this for around $50 when it is normally priced $119. It includes the individual packs Simple Town (upgraded), Simple Military, Simple Airport, Simple Props, Simple Items, Simple People, Simple Citizens, Simple Buildings, Simple Cars, and Simple Roadwork.
It can be reviewed and purchased for $119 by clicking here and visiting the asset store.



















Simple Apocalypse


This is the other big pack. It is not a combination of smaller packs like Simple World. This one is content that is only available in this pack.
This asset can be reviewed and purchased for $119 by clicking here and visiting the asset store.
















Missing Things


Those are the two big things and eventually you'll realize there are some things missing. There are no interior items and setups. There could be more of a port type setup for cities, and farms. I am not going to show images and go into details on these other things, but I will link them here with their normal price.

Simple Office Interiors - $9.99
Simple House Interiors - $9.99
Simple Farm - $14.99
Simple Apocalypse Interiors - $49.99 (I don't own this one yet)
Simple Shop Interiors - $16.99
Simple Port - $9.99
Simple City - $9.99 (I don't own this one yet)

Polyworld - Quantum Theory


The asset developer Quantum Theory makes a set of assets called PolyWorld. I do not own any of them at this time, but they are high on my list of things to get. When you are making a game you will often run into situations where you have great assets, but the art styles do not match up. Well if you are okay with the Low Poly look that these following assets look like it ALSO comes with a tool to convert any other asset to this style. This means if you are okay with this look you can convert high poly, high detail assets that normally would not work well so that they can be used with all other assets. This makes this batch of tools and assets potentially VERY useful for making all of your art work together.

PolyWorld: Woodland Low Poly Toolkit


If I only buy one this is likely the one I'll end up buying. It has everything I need to convert my other assets. The Simple style art series I displayed above might not work with this style of low poly, because that simple style is a very stylistic (cubic) art style of low poly. The low poly this PolyWorld produces is more of a faceted and shaded style.

Polyworld: Woodland Toolkit is the defacto standard suite of tools and 3D artwork to create a flat-shaded, lowpoly world inside Unity.

Features:

  • Create your world using the familiar Unity Terrain tools and heightfields, paint infinite terrain textures, then convert that to a low poly, Polyworld terrain.
  • Convert any mesh, even characters, to the PolyWorld style. Any 3d object in the asset store can be used! *blendshapes not supported yet
  • Powerful mesh combine script to reduce draw calls for mobile
You can review and purchase this asset for $50 by clicking here and visiting the asset store.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AK2grTL-7xk https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cz-pYubMmgk https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/18572

Conclusion


I am trying to provide some non-technical Unity Tutorials as well. In this one I hope I provided you a different type of asset combination for your consideration.

If you like this tutorial please give me an up vote. I realize I am publishing these quite rapidly and the interest seems to be diminishing. It does take me quite a bit of time to put one of these together, so if the interest wanes I will slow down and see what happens if I only publish one of these every once in awhile. However, if people want the flood of information then by all means keep up voting these tutorials and I'll keep providing them.

Thank you for your time... happy developing.... and Steem On!

Sort:  

Cool!, my son also loves minecraft. Building blocks has never been more fun :)

Hell I like minecraft. The visuals may not be amazing but the game design is unique and engaging. It's a pretty cool game.

yo quiero ser una youtuber
I want to be a youtuber

Then be a youtuber. I want to be a steemer, so I am being a steemer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58119.97
ETH 3054.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26