You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Clearing up the confusion behind slavery

in #ungrip7 years ago

I couldn't agree more @wwf
We are almost all (some much more than others) dependent upon the state. After living in South Africa for the last 17 years and now moving to Australia, it has become acutely obvious to me that the provision of services is the process that leads to this dependency.
Let me explain -
The South African State is incompetent at delivering the services that the first world takes for granted (water, security, electricity) this has led to most houses having some form of solar power, water catchment and a serious focus on personal security, thereby reducing the dependence on the state and reducing the impact on the environment. When I compare this to Australia with a functioning state providing many services to its people and the average person has much more financial resources. There is a notable reduction in the amount of houses providing these services (solar/water) for themselves and remaining dependent on the state.

Although the standard of living is much higher in Oz so is the dependence on the State

Side Note - Strangely enough the Queen of England is still on all the coins here - Although I have no idea why

Sort:  

Pointed observation. Thank you very much for sharing that. Your story helps support what I've been saying this whole time. As for the Queen on the coins, that is because Australia is a feudal colony and not a 'nation'. :) Same as Canada.

I have never heard the term feudal colony before. I will be doing some googling on it thanks

I wrote about it a lot on my blog and in my book. If you struggle finding books that talk about it, I share links to some that are on line within my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57483.44
ETH 2574.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48