From Not PC To Cellos And Star Wars

in #ulog6 years ago

Let's do something silly today and just follow my chaotic train of thought through an evening of chatting and mindless YouTubing.


Darth-Vader-Scifi.jpg
source: Max Pixel

While chatting in Discord someone mentioned Dennis Leary and that got me thinking about all the SJW nonsense we're suffering through right now. "Is there no end to all the virtue signalling by the so called politically correct 'new left'?" This question occupies my mind sometimes, notably when watching the new Star Wars movies, reading complaints about Marvel Comics going all feminine and the outrage accompanying the release of all female Ghost Busters a few years back and recently the all female star remake of Oceans 11.

But it was the mentioning of Dennis Leary, past master of insult comedy (yes, that subgenre really exists), that got me thinking last night. I was wondering if his insulting ways would be accepted these days of maniacal PC behavior. Or the often hilarious, but sometimes downright racist comedy in popular series of the 1970s like Fawlty Towers or All In The Family, would they pass modern day SJW scrutiny?

Let's be silly and put it to the test. Here's a video of the introduction of Dennis Leary's stand-up act and DVD No Cure for Cancer:


Denis Leary opening act on the "No Cure For Cancer" DVD

I tell ya; I loved that song back then and still love it now :-) I love how he connected the American Dream to him being an asshole of gigantic proportions. Would this make mainstream tv today? I don't know: haven't really watched tv (only Formula 1 and MotoGP in the weekends) for a while, but when I stumbled upon a more recent video with the Leary, I saw how things can change in just a decade or two. So here's Dennis as a guest in the TV show "The View", presented by Whoopi Goldberg and a bunch of women I don't know:


Denis Leary Talks Pres. Trump, Who Should Run in 2020, Inspiration for New Book | The View

Am I wrong, or has even the Leary become victim to the constant bashing over our heads with PC virtue signaling in the mainstream media and Hollywood? I don't know... You tell me. I hope you understand that I have nothing against feminism and being correct. It's just when the powers that be start to dictate what we can and cannot listen to or say. So I'm very critical about capitalism, but I hate Disney's move to force a whole lot of anti-capitalist virtue signaling in The Last Jedi (the infamous Canto Bight scene) even more.

So my mind wondered of to Star Wars again while still listening to random stuff and checking some posts from my fellow helpienauts... And when I saw a post by @silentscreamer a connection was made in my mind and I remembered a Star Wars parody from years ago. @silentscreamer is a great violin player, so she obviously made me think of the Star Wars chello laser-duel by ThePianoGuys:


Cello Wars (Star Wars Parody) Lightsaber Duel - The Piano Guys

The Phantom Cellist... It's brilliant, even the way they stare each other down... I swear I played that a million times years ago, and I watched it at least five times yesterday evening before going to bed with a big smile on my face ;-) See you all tomorrow!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Self-Reflecting Reality
Emanate: Audio Exchange ProtocolEmergence
Believe Me. Really, You Can Trust Me.Machine Learning To Divide And Conquer
The Century Of The SelfieThe Sixth Mass Extinction

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem
Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51