Return – Release – Remember

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

selva437.jpg


Finding My Words

There's a strange difficulty in 'restarting' – in making marks in spaces that have remained so long empty and quiet. Like speaking after prolonged silences....voice cracking and reluctant – unsure and unsteady – as it remembers how to speak.

With unhurried fingertips resting on keys, I close my eyes, reaching inward to gently rouse my words from their lengthy slumber – coaxing letters from their disjointed, solitary sleep – breathing patiently as slowly, they begin to find their way back to one another – organizing themselves into familiar patterns.

This linguistic dance has always had a potent, alchemical effect on me. Writing accesses parts of my brain that might otherwise remain untouched, bypassing the overcrowded places that are rampant with habitual thinking. Though I know it's the very best medicine available to me, I'm too often guided by self-sabotaging impulses that would sooner forget just how crucial it is to my survival.

Today...I'm choosing to remember.


stock702.jpg


Overfull

I've been navigating a strange emotional landscape these last few months. I've kept myself forever busy, knowing – on some level – that doing so was a means of willful avoidance. I've intentionally overfilled my plate, covering every inch and then some with obligation, leaving no room for distress.

My days have passed in endless pursuit of 'to-do' lists, moving between tasks in a kind of survival-mode autopilot, careful not to leave gaps; cracks through which my grief might spill.

Beneath the busy-ness, a deep melancholy persists. Heartache whispers from the periphery, tugging at my sleeve like a neglected child, begging for attention.

'Not now' – I say, repeatedly brushing it aside – 'I don't have time for a breakdown.'


hyampom49.jpg


It was only a matter of time.

Last night, after delivering files to a client, I was faced with a greatly reduced list – that string of productive distractions that has helped keep the sadness at bay. Woven through the relief at having completed so much work was a thread of panic.

A familiar tugging came at my sleeve. This time, I had no good excuse; yet I still wasn't ready.

The wisest part of me knew what I should do. Still, I ignored the faint suggestion that, perhaps...it was time to sit with my anguish – to face it with compassion and allow it to tell its story – to work itself out through writing.

Instead, I watched several episodes of 'The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel' and laughed heartily. I laughed...and then I cried. I suppose I needed that to unpin my stubborn evasion.

Laughter and tears spring from the same source; I should've known I was opening the floodgates.


bali2.jpg


Inevitable Deluge

I cried myself to sleep. I haven't done that in a really long time.

I let go my defenses, allowing despair to grip me, finally – acknowledging its depth and texture – listening, without interjecting...without trying to guide nor define it.

There was no specificity to my weeping, simply a long-overdue expression of all that I've been deflecting – an accumulation of loneliness, disappointment, exhaustion and pain.

After so many months of forced silence, all it wanted was to be heard and recognized – to be granted permission...simply to BE.


stock528.jpg


The Calm After...

I awoke with that subtle headache that often follows a good cry. Rather than immediately leaving the warm embrace of my flannel sheets, I languished for a while, relishing a kind of spaciousness I haven't felt in quite some time.

Today finds me liberated from the assiduous escapism that has so defined my life since September. I feel delicate, but not vulnerable – drained, but not depleted – humble, but not ashamed.

There's a certain buoyancy that comes with letting go, as though the salt from my tears is lifting and carrying me – like I'm floating on rather than drowning in the river of my sorrow.

Think I'll lay back a while and surrender to its current – see where it takes me.


deep bows of gratitude for all you lovely humans who haven't given up on me, even when I've been trying to give up on myself. I so appreciate all of you. xo, zippy


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

Sort:  
"...all it wanted was to be heard and recognized – to be granted permission...simply to BE."

You can always simply BE here, at least with me. It doesn't matter if you feel like talking or singing or just sitting silently staring into the abyss... we will do it. 💖

I appreciate that safe space that is you, miss KittyGirl. However trite the sentiment – thank you for bein' a friend.

you are beauty. Your thoughts and words touch a part of me that I can so relate to.

You are never far from my thoughts. You are too much of a precious soul to not want to be near. Always know you can reach out and I will be there for you in what ever way you need. <3 many gentle hugs <3

Hearing that makes the medicine all the more potent – that the words I choose describe not only my struggle, but that of others, too. Excellent confirmation that I really must offer them more often.

You are lovely, dear Snook. Grateful to have you in my corner. <3

Just like a dream, Zippy. Your work always knocks me down. ♥
love love love

I hope it then also lifts you up. I quite enjoy the thought of you floating alongside me, my beautiful Scorpio twin. <3 Love you, sweet Serena.

Love you. I honour your honesty, and your willingness to flow. ❤️

Much love, Katrina dear. Thank you for being there...always. <3

Mmmm
wonderful, well done.

Thank you, Bluefie dearest. <3

of course!
and best of the Holidays, to you, this season!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Grateful and honored — thank you.

So beautiful and lovely photo

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, kindly, @zpzn. 🌿

🙏💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.230 which ranks you at #811 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 809).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #11.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77