Gifts Of Endurance

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

Firstly, from the depths of my heart I want to thank those of you who took the time to reach out in the wake of my last post. Together, you became the tethers, securing the net that held me, suspending me just enough to avoid hitting 'rock bottom'. In a very real sense – you saved my Christmas.@shadowspub, @snook & @jackmilleryou are genuine angels.


macroverse22.jpg


Christmas Eve

After penning that post, I crawled into bed, wanting nothing more than to find respite – begging sleep to relieve me from pain's excruciating clutches. Yet no such clemency was afforded me that night.

Instead, I struggled just to lay down; during these acute 'episodes', my neck simply cannot bear the weight of my head without the aid of both hands. I realize it's difficult to imagine, but – trust me – transitioning from sitting to reclining without the use of my hands is decidedly difficult with a spinal fusion, especially with significant degeneration of my lumbar spine and sacrum. But I digress...

By the time I finally had my head on a pillow, the ordeal had further aggravated the already fierce spasm, and no position I could find would alleviate the strain. Each shift between positions was pure agony, as though a doberman pinscher had me in a stubborn death-grip, and every...single...tiny...movement made it bite down even harder.

However torturous, I kept trying, determined to find that elusive sweet spot that would allow me just enough reprieve to fall asleep. Every shift required far too much effort, making me cry out as tears spilled into my ears, soaking my hair and drenching the pillows. A few times, my yelps were so loud I was sure I'd wake my neighbors.

Hours passed this way. By 4am, I was despondent.


After a weary, inner pep-talk, I forced myself through yet another painful transition, gritting my teeth as I labored into a sitting position, then carefully traversed the ladder down from my sleeping loft. I stacked some pillows on my couch, plugged in my heating pad and carefully leaned myself against it.

I was so desperately exhausted by then and feeling so acutely alone.

For about half an hour, I did my best to breathe through it, patiently waiting for that moment when the doberman's bite might begin to release....even just a little – maybe just enough to allow for slightly deeper, less labored breaths. No such grace was forthcoming.

I took stock of whom I might call at such an hour on Christmas Eve. The realization that there was no one local whom I felt comfortable reaching out to – no one whom I trusted would tolerate being so burdened by my suffering – that just magnified my discomfort. (I know, intellectually, that such notions aren't true, but logic is hard to come by in moments of such acute stress.)

I briefly considered calling 911. That's the first time pain associated with my back has been so unbearable as to make me contemplate visiting the ER. That...tells you something about how bad it really was.

Instead, I researched the contraindications of mixing Flexeril (a muscle relaxer) with Gabapentin (for nerve pain.) I'd already taken a full dose of the former, of which I generally take only half. It clearly wasn't helping at all.

So – I swallowed a 300mg capsule of Gabapentin, dragged my heating pad onto my loft, endured the misery of laying myself down again, closed my eyes...tried not to move...and prayed for mercy.


pdxwide59.jpg


Christmas Day

I awoke in exactly the same position about 7 hours later. Much to my chagrin, the pain had not subsided...not even slightly.

I lay there, motionless, for almost an hour, dreading the task of somehow lifting myself up once more. Eventually, hunger got the better of me and gave me the impetus to endure it. As unlikely as it sounds, being upright was more tolerable than laying down, so making myself something to eat wasn't too terribly difficult.

Once fed, I resumed my semi-reclined position on the couch and spent some time in The Alliance voice chat with @snook, @jackmiller and @thehive. Snook was adorably relentless in getting me there, knowing how much I needed support. Their sweet company elevated my spirits considerably, helping me find the strength to move forward with my day.

A shower further revived me; standing beneath super hot water – letting it pummel that angry spot – made the doberman finally begin to loosen its grip, jussst a touch. Imbibing a potpourri of anti-inflammatories provided additional relief, allowing me to more easily draw in oxygen, which in turn made it that much easier to withstand the pain.

Though I'd seriously doubted my ability to ride out the day, much less make the pie I'd planned for, nor attend the 'orphans' potluck I was invited to – against all odds...I pulled it off. Sure, I was a bit slow-moving and therefore quite late to arrive, but I made it. And...I did so with a smile, feeling genuinely accomplished and proud of myself.

Had I not been honest with those in attendance, they'd have been none the wiser, knowing nothing of the battles I'd suffered through the night before.


All The More Delicious...

Few things make me smile quite as wide as tickling people's tastebuds. I don't do it very often, but I genuinely enjoy experimenting with sweets. To my delighted surprise, both delectable treats I made were a huge hit!

I'd thought I'd ruined the almond butter cups when the caramel separated, but the end result revealed nothing of that failure. They were (are) so divine – watching people bite into them brought me so much joy!

Some said it was the most incredible thing they'd ever tasted (no joke!) A girl who works at a popular, local, natural grocery called New Seasons suggested I could sell them there for $4 a pop (whaat?!?) I giggled as folks asked sheepishly if they might eat a second one. 'Of course!' I'd beam.

Of the 2.5 dozen I'd made, I managed to save just 5 to share with friends who weren't in attendance that night. I'd call that a grand success!


cupslast.JPG


And the crowning jewel...

I also made a raw, vegan, chocolate cream pie – organic, of course!

Though it took much longer to set than I would've liked, it was even more scrumptious than I'd imagined. The crust...woooah – the velvety, mousse-like filling...ecstatic eye-roll – the coconut whipped cream topping drizzled with melted dark chocolate...sooo much YUM!

My host said to me – with her signature, slightly sideways glance and gently upturned brow – 'You outdid yourself this year.'

Oh, yes – I most certainly did.


pieing.JPG

piecrust.JPG

chocpiefix.jpg


The Sweetest Gifts

Somehow, the hardship that both proceeded and coincided with the preparation of these desserts made their flavor that much richer. It gave them character, just as it does me.

I couldn't have known, when I decided to make these treats, that I was building myself the most unlikely safety net – giving myself something solid to reach for and move towards...like a gently rocking buoy or a softly pulsing lighthouse, helping me find my way through the turbulence of my pain.

Perhaps I had no tree under which carefully wrapped parcels awaited me on Christmas morn, yet I received the most wonderful presents, all the same.

The gifts bestowed upon me are the most invaluable and precious:

  • reminders of my considerable strength and resilience
  • confirmation that I am loved and not nearly as alone as I feared
  • gratitude for deep breaths, hot showers and good friends
  • delightful smiles and sounds of pleasure from those who tasted my creations
  • two, new recipes in my delicious bag of tricks

However lonely and uncertain my holiday's beginning, I could not have asked for a more satisfying and beautiful finish.


hyampom63.jpg


For joining me as I navigate the vulnerable terrain of my physical dissonance – I thank you. There's such deeply entrenched shame and guilt that accompany chronic pain – a pervasive belief that our ceaseless struggle is a burden to others. For me, there's also the sticky fear of appearing weak, needy or pitiful. I share – not in hopes of garnering sympathy or to give myself a corner on suffering – I share because...giving voice to it, while scary, loosens its grip somewhat – even if only on the emotional level. • I bow in heartfelt gratitude for all those willing to listen, without judgement or pity. Your unassuming presence is a genuine blessing.
xo, zippy


raindrop-promo-thin.jpg

Sort:  

Flexaril and Gabopentin... I remember that cocktail from firsthand experience. I know it's not the same as having people locally, but you can always reach out to me or several others on Discord if you need to talk. I've had to deal with back issues and have surgery because my entire lumbar was herniated to the point that it felt like lightning was constantly traveling down my legs and I couldn't walk. I'm saying that to say that on some level I 'get it' before I say what I'm going to next. Please, please, please be careful with gabopentin. It's a generic form of Neurontin and has a very high rate of suicidal thoughts. My cousin was put on it after a very bad car wreck where he lost the use of his legs and I was put on it for the reasons I listed above and while I managed to finally get off of it on my own, he didn't reach out when he should have. Much love to ya Zippy. <3

Thank you for sharing all of that with me, Clayboyn. Though I wish I didn't, I know the brutal sciatic nerve pain of which you speak, all too intimately.

I'm so sorry to hear about your cousin. :( While I certainly appreciate the dire warning, you can rest-assured – I actually loathe the stuff; I've had that same bottle for a couple years and have opened it maybe 3 or 4 times. I absolutely hate what it does to me, regardless of its efficacy. That's why I never reach for it unless I'm truly, desperately in need. I also only ever take it before I go to sleep.

The only time that hasn't been true was the very first time I took it, when I had no idea how it would effect me. I felt like I'd had more than a few martinis and could only see straight if I closed one eye. Not my idea of a good time, and entirely counter to my need for pain-relief that allows me to work and function normally.

I actually took it on Christmas night, as well. The pain was still quite bad, and I really just needed to sleep, so – I made an executive decision. Though it resulted in my waking with a pain level that was much more manageable, it also entirely obliterated more than 16 hours of my life. I slept like a corpse for that long, and it took me a couple more hours to be able to see straight. That did nothing but cement my reasons for avoiding it. It really isn't worth it.

Thanks for bein' there, Clayboyn. You're a gem and then some. <3

Hi @zipporah!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.232 which ranks you at #808 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 810).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

If I lived near you I would be there to help you at any time day or night.
I understand pain and solitude.....if you ever want to talk I am ALWAYS here for you.❤️

Oh honey, I’m crying over here. Please DM me if you ever need me, okay? Please? I’m awful about asking for help myself, but it’s important to reach out. I know that sense of loneliness and it’s such a difficult place. Add the kind of pain and fatigue you’re describing and omg, you’re brave just to get through it.

I’m so very glad you managed to create such yummy offerings and attended your orphan’s Christmas. Sometimes those are the best ones... I went to one years ago that remains a cherished memory even though I didn’t know most of the people at the beginning of the night.

Anyway, I love you and I’m here, sending you deep breaths of comfort and relief. Sweetest hugs from my heart to yours! 💞🤗💞

I begin to resemble a broken record with my thank yous' and 'I appreciate yous', but I find it difficult to find alternative phrases for my gratitude.

The most beneficial aspect of this platform for me is this – the sincerity of those whom I share it with – the kindness of folks who would otherwise be strangers, were it not for this grand experiment. I'm grateful to be traversing this fascinating chain alongside you, dear Katrina. <3 Your heart is good.

Awww...we love the fire outta you Lady Zippy! Many kudos to Jack and Shadow and the rest of the fam that lightened your mood. So appreciative of people that take the time to be there for each other. I am glad your back is feeling a little better too hun. We're here when you need us, just call :)

And I adore the hell outta you fine folks – the whole lot of ya. Grateful for my little corner of the castle and the warmth y'all fill it with. <3

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zipporah from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm so glad you found the angels and support you needed to make this Christmas end in a glorious crescendo after that horrible overture dear @zipporah... I wish I was near, not only to support you, but definitely also to help finish your culinary triumphs... 😉

I love dobermans, something to do with a man called "Higgins" in the series "Magnum", I guess. But no matter if it was Zeus or Apollo that was acting like a pitbull that first day, I would have called Higgins personally to come remove his damn canine painbringer.

I really hope you have some great last days in 2018, and a wonderful start of 2019! And thanks once again for a great read! 😍 💜

Oh my goodness! So much you had to persevere and yet you come up with such a joyful, marvelous post showing such appreciation!
I feel for you having to endure that but if it is any conciliation, it too, in time will pass.
I had lived for many years with chronic pain after breaking my neck in a car accident but I can truthfully say that that is now history for me as I move forward doing what I love and appreciating all I have.
May the new year bring you much peace, happiness and love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86