Ulog #5 - Crazy Work Days Ahead

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

vegetate

I have set myself a target as to how much I am going to earn by such and such time. That's when the whole depression and "I just feel like vegetating" mode turns on.

For some reason, every time I touch upon money as my main goal, my whole system shuts down. I have no idea why is that so, other than the fact that this is my system and I should find a way around this problem. That is to focus on the work and not the money.

Time and time again, the system has shut down through the years and I've finally decided that yes. That's not the way I should approach work!

Taylor's campus

Taylor's University Lakeside Campus where I study

Enter 2018. It is already the end of the year. There are 75 more days left before the year ends. I have 2 more assignments to finish for Media Management and a Capstone Project to complete before the end of my Masters degree. Even though I may feel that things are not going to well at this point in time because of the weekend shut down, I think I am going to survive this.

SteemIt

I've joined SteemIt since April 2018. That's like 6 months already and guess what... I just have 128 posts as of 17th of October at 10:53 AM. I've seen people joining in August and they've already written thousands of posts.

The goal from the very beginning was simple. Plug in all day writing and increase the writing skills. Better yet, write so much that life is now a whole writing exercise. But no!!!

There had to be school assignments, sleep, gym (or so I am lying to myself) and new projects mushrooming every other month.

The SteemIt project was lost and then now I think I am back here trying to revive my SteemIt spirit. Make me whole again. WHAT?!?!

I got to build on something that lasts, or else I am just running all over the place doing little things, then jumping ship and trying to do something else without much success.

The MO has got to stop happening.

It's time to get serious about SteemIt and I know better not to jump around too much any more. It's not doing me any good.

IMG_2699.JPG

WorQ Day 8

It is a week since I moved in to WorQ UOA Business Park. I haven't been as productive as I hoped I would be. I ran too fast too soon and found myself panting and gasping for air right from the start.

The WorQ camp went well. I managed to get myself adjusted to my office space. I think I am going to move to the Hot Desk area in the next few days. It is better to be around people than not to be around people. This is Prima Tanjong all over again. I am finding myself alone in my office suite. With nobody around at all, it just doesn't feel too cool, does it?


UOA Business Park

UOA Business Park

I have a good view of the Federal Highway and a futuristic looking LRT station just outside of the window. I am also very much visible from the window. I was walking to my work place and peered into the window of my office. From afar, I can see my Pure Cool fan box. OMG! I mean, anybody travelling along the Federal Highway can see me if they squint their eyes hard enough.

Life

I am still trying to figure out life and trying to make it work. If I can just follow the plans and execute, I will be just fine. But my autopilot is to plan everything and then look at it work its magic, like I do not have to do any work at all. That's the problem. I've been too brainwashed to think that The Secret works by just thinking and dreaming about what I want and that it will just magically appear before my eyes.

I have to work super hard I know to make things moving. Now that my way of working is just to sit around and dream without putting in the work after planning it out, I have to work SUPER SUPER DUPER HARD to rechannel my thinking, create a new ditch to the water flow, whatever that means. It is going to be hard work more than ever and the problem is that I did the wrong things from the start.

So lesson kids is not to do the wrong things. That's because once you do, it'll be so much harder work to do what is right.

Media Management, the CyberBullying Capstone and the Assignments

I am doing a paper on media literacy in China and Malaysia. I'm comparing the systems and its so much work. I am probably going to spend the next 3 days just reading up on all things media literacy, cyberbullying and everything related to it. I'll have to skip sleep, gym and reading stuff I want to read for as long as I have not finished the work.

It's not like I can help it. But in order for me to put this to better use, I'll be blogging about the stuff that I am writing. Heck! I'll post my assignments and stuff I learn here.

Ops Singkat

no time
Singkat is Malay for 'little time', brief or short time. I have till Friday 12 PM to finish up all the work I can. I'm setting the time countdown once again and really doing the work. REALLY I mean REALLY. OR else I'm just going to be just talking BULL again which many people who know me think I'm all BULL. I think I am back into working mode. Somehow, my system got me back at work by its own methods.

Better get to work and write the draft.

My lecturer just messaged me saying that it is no use just talking. Yes I understand Dr. Lina. I have another 4 more hours. What can I read and write for the next 4 hours is beyond me. But there is just one thing that I have to do...

GET TO WORK!

Sort:  

Congratulation @victorholyo! Your post has been recently featured on #TeamMalaysia's Daily Pick Series!

Have a nice day and STEEM to the moon!

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Don't stress yourself out because some have done more than you. It is about what you are able to and the quality you put out. You are so busy with school and work and that is a valid reason to not be as far as some. Do what you can and dont compare yourself. You are amazing at what you already do so just keep plugging away, this is a marathon.
Ren

Thanks Ren! I do understand the marathon concept. I love this kind of platform where we get to write our hearts out and have support along the way.
Victor

Oh yes, it enables us to be able to share our adventures and practice writing.

Take it easy on yourself and just live life. Stressing over things doesn’t lead us nowhere! And I know, yeah it’s easy to give advice, we do have different takes in life and for sure you can handle it well by yourself! Keep fighting!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @twodorks! I wish that I can follow your advice and of course... keep fighting!!

You can do it!!!!!!!!!!! I’m right behind you cheering!!!! 🤟🏻👋🏻📣

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have put myself under pressure at work for such a long time, but finally, I had to give up and see that I have brought me into a position that others would call very successful. But I was not very happy at all. I think today, everything falls into a place when we go with the flow just a little bit more. Persistence is good and needed. I cannot give any advice, but for me, it worked not to think so much in situations full of work pressure. I worked on building more trust in myself. Maybe also build up more trust in life. Not that easy to explain ...
I am sure you will handle this!!!

You'll do fabulously! I believe in you Victor! sometimes it just takes a little bit of time to figure it out. and you're back! that takes courage, you know??? :)
and this post is HUGE!!! hhahha if you dont' have time - dont' post such a massive post! :) post smaller posts more often - rather than large posts less frequently.

know what i mean? :)
you'll keep people interested easier :)

proud of you Victor!!! you're doing it!!!!!

Congratulations @victorholyo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93