The Dood's Back For a Bit.

in #ulog5 years ago

So I took a break from Steemit for a bit. Honestly, I almost stepped away and even began the process of powering down. Part of it was I lost faith, the other part was after a couple years my account is mainly liked by a bot army. The same few people have interacted with this account (The Dood truly appreciates your support) and most of my votes seem to come from bots. Ironically, I haven't paid any bots, yet my posts are always upvoted by them. I did experiment with them for about a month, but don't understand why I still get so much bot traffic.

I guess what I'm trying to say is over the last couple years I just haven't built the community or friendships I wanted from this platform. Can't have a very good conversation with a bot. Although thankful for the bot upvotes, interaction is more important. It also seems I've seen a lot of people come and go. Each time I've made a new friend, more times than not they got discouraged with the platform and left for greener pastures.

I keep reading about the NEW STEEM and STEEMIT, so I thought I'd give it one last go... I'll be posting at least a few times a week over the next 6 months or so. I'll see if my posts are found and if I can build the community and friendships I've built on other social platforms.

For the record, Steemit has never been about the money for me. It's always been about the novel use of blockchain technology to reward content creators. Make no mistake about it, I think STEEMIT has scratched the surface and led the way of what the future of social networking can and will be. I look forward to giving new STEEMIT a second chance and seeing what the future holds.

Cheers;
The Dood!

Sort:  

Depends on what your posting about really. The tribes are good for filtering the content a bit more as that was always a huge issue and with communities and SMT's coming in the next hardfork we should see better ways to interact with like minded people. Lots have left but there are still plenty survivors who can see the long game and what is being built. Slowly but getting better.

I see the true potential of this platform. I have from the start. It makes it really dificult to walk away. This could be and in many ways already is something really special!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

It's nice to see someone not leaving!

Ooops, better be bot-like ... 404: error not found.

Have a similar feeling though. I have had better conversations on twitter than on Steemit.

Same here. You would think it would be the opposite.

Congratulations @the-bitcoin-dood! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 800 posts. Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey welcome back! I'm digging new steem a bit myself, but just a novice really.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, good to be back and find some new faces! Cheers :)

I've only been here for a year and had no idea what I was doing until recently. Then I had the rug pulled out by the fork, and had no choice but to give in to the behavior modification controls. I am certainly not making any more than I did under old steem, and I am working harder to earn it. But I do have a little gaggle of loyal followers that make it still enticing to be here. Too bad none of them are whales.
Welcome back. I hope it works out for you.

Thanks! Good to be back. This platform has had its highs and lows, it truly does have potential though. It's all about community building. If you're building a small community of friends and growing you're doing it right :) For me it's all about the growth and interactions.

I believe, but am not certain, that an upvote with a value of less than .02 is wasted. I appreciate it, but you might want to rethink how you use your voting power. I no longer upvote comments, it just depletes my voting power and is of no benefit to anyone. If it is a benefit to someone somewhere, I have no idea what or who that is. Let me know if you find out I'm wrong.
Then there's the upvote curve (which ALWAYS curves my upvotes down) a dastardly condition I am having difficulty accepting.
Look at me explaining #newsteem to a veteran. I hope I have not overstepped.

Good point. I tend to use a small upvote just as an acknowledgment. But I suppose a responce is the best acknowledgement of all.

Thanks for the warm welcome!

You're most welcome!

I think things are for the better now. I'm not as active as I once was or I want to be, but it seems to be worth it.

I think the new communities are doing a pretty good job helping more people be seen here on the platform and hoping this growth can continue.

It's definitely be hard for people in crypto in general during the bear market and I'm just impressed by how many people have stuck around even though the interaction has gone down quite a bit.

I have to start looking into the communities more.

I think a lot of people are sticking around because they see the potential. This platform has so much potential. It's hard to walk away when you see the true potential of the platform.

Yeah that's what keeps me around.

Steem Monsters is killing it right now. Most of my investments into Steem Monsters continues to grow. Was able to sell an Alpha pack for around 7 or 8$ and only paid a few dollars for it back when Steem was higher so from a dollar standpoint made about 4x back and from a Steem standpoint at least an 8x back (maybe less today with the huge drop in crypto prices), but still significantly more than what I put in.

I've also made about 6 steem renting 1 maxed legendary card.. It's not huge, but gotta start somewhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54