ULOG #5: Finding A Unicorn

in #ulog6 years ago

A unicorn to me is a person or thing that is mythical and couldn’t possibly be real.

I have met a few unicorns in my life that are just fantastic and truly wonderful people that I have just naturally felt drawn to.

A few days ago, I met another unicorn that I know was put onto my path to teach me about myself and help me to be a better person.


Photo from Mad About Unicorns Facebook Page

Everyone that we meet in life was put on our path for a reason: to teach us, to hurt us so we may grow, or love us after a hurt to show us how to love again.

This particular unicorn already challenges me to want more from life. I feel a part of my spirit being awakened that has been dormant for a long time.

Awakening the Spirit Within

The part of me that wants to take life by the horns and just ride until I get bucked off, no matter the consequences.

Maybe that sounds reckless but I used to want to live life to the fullest and take advantage of everything that life had to offer.

With the depression and PTSD, that has been harder and harder to do over the years because I haven’t felt as confident in myself or in my own abilities.

Because I don’t often feel safe in public places, I have come to question myself a lot so I don’t always assert myself or put myself out there as often as I should or could.

My newfound friend has a zeal and passion for life unlike anything that I have seen in years and his tenacity is slightly addicting. I want to be like him and I want to find that part of myself again.

I want to be willing to take chances and make changes that will inspire true and lasting growth.

I want to wake up each morning and know exactly where my life is going because I have a goal in my mind and an intention in my heart that it will be so because I will it to be so.

And I want to go confidently in the direction of my dreams without fear of failing or rejection.

As far as feeling safe is concerned, events happen in life that can change us forever and they can happen in an instant.

It’s how we react to these situations that determines the path that our lives will take from that point forward.

If we let the situation take control of our lives, as I have for many years now, we lose out on the ability to live life and we lose pieces of ourselves over time.

Am I cured? No.

I still have my days and my moments where I question whether life is worth living or not and I question why I am here. Sometimes I feel that way many times per day.

But, I quiet that negative voice as often as I can because I don’t want to be the shy, easily intimidated woman that I have been.

I am searching within for the strong, independent woman that I was once that loved life and had so many plans for myself.


Photo of Me!

Maybe, with help of unicorns, I can find her again and bring her back to the surface where she should be.

Thanks for reading,

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information, leave a comment on this post, or reach out to me on Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

I recently became a mentor for Promo Mentors every Tuesday at 11am EST if anyone needs some posts checked out! I really enjoy the community and how helpful everyone is :)

Sort:  

My prayer is that you find healing and support from unicorns who grace your journey.

Keep pressing forward!

Unicorns always teach me so much about myself and about how much I can achieve when I set my mind to it. I love your comment and your kind words! Thanks so much :)
Ivy

It feels good most times to find someone who would love you as you are and be ready to help you grow... But most of all it is great when you can you depend wholly on yourself.

I pray you fins yourself soon.

I haven't gotten to a point in my life where I rely solely on myself but I think I'm getting closer to that. For now, it helps to find others that can help me to grow and develop into someone better. I'm working on finding myself so I appreciate the well wishes, thank you!
Ivy

There is something I would like you to listen...

Look and see her
how she sparkles
she's the last Unicorn

https://steemit.com/music/@yidneth/unicorns-in-movies-and-books-the-last-unicorn-my-soundtrack-cover-and-fantasy-photo-shoot

It's a cover I made some time back and some "Unicorn" magic too

Glad you are on your journey to heal, I am on that very same path myself. Hugs

Aww I really love that post, the song, and your photos! The Last Unicorn is one of my favorite movies ever! I am on a continuous journey to heal and to grow spiritually and I'm glad to have amazing people like you in my life to help on that journey. Thank you for being such a sweet spirit!
Ivy

I just shared a "healing song about personal growth" It was a healing one to me... you don't even have to upvote or comment but I truely believe it's a comforting one. It's called "GROW"by the way it features two creatures that give name to helpie bots "Kokeneli" and "Hirvi" :) Oh I love the last Unicorn, and flight of dragons... and all those old cartoon movies... I'm kind of naive I LOVE THEM STILL.

Reading this...makes me speechless..cause I feel like somewhat reading myself. tears...Anyway, thank you for posting.

You are so sweet! I'm so glad that you found this post helpful. That's why I like to write because sometimes people need to read about my experiences to help them with their own.
Ivy

Thank you for your reply @socent. You know you are brave for sharing your story. I'm not sure if I can do that yet. Over the years I try to learn to suppress it by forcing myself to not think about it. Although, not exactly the same as yours, but few similarities. Now, all I want is the moment and not remember the past as I could never bring it back. But who knows. Well, take care and have a beautiful day. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59653.51
ETH 2353.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47