ULOG #10: Today is My Birthday

in #ulog6 years ago

Every year on my birthday I reflect upon my life so far and everything that has happened in the previous year as a way to learn from my experiences as well as share some insights with others.

I have journals in my closet with entries from previous years on birthdays past that I read in the morning when I get up on my birthday before reflecting on what is currently going on in my life.

My friends gave me a birthday part last night complete with Minion cupcakes from Despicable Me because I’m slightly addicted to them LOL. Check out these adorable cupcakes!


Some lessons that I have learned this year include:
• Not everyone will love and accept me as I am and that’s ok, I don’t need to change to fit their mold.
• Mental health challenges suck but you can learn to live with them and still have a full life.
• People enter and exit our lives as they are meant to in order to teach us lessons. Not everyone is meant to walk the journey alongside us.
• Loving others without conditions or expecting anything in return is the purest form of love but it can be the hardest to give.
• Suicide leaves a hole where a loved one once stood and leaves so many unanswered questions but the pain that someone that ultimately commits suicide endures beforehand is astronomical and that’s what hurts those left behind the most.
• Telling the truth, no matter the circumstances or situation, is ultimately the best course of action… even if it hurts.
• Most people will not understand your journey or the choices that you face or the decisions you choose but you need to live life on your own terms anyway.
• Everything happens for a reason, even if we don’t understand the reason at the time.
• People that are kind to you and act like friends don’t always have your best interest at heart so trust should be given with some caution involved.
• Magic can be found all around us in the little things in life and in the kindness of strangers, we just need to look to find it.
• Opportunity presents itself to us when we are ready for it. So staying open to possibilities is hugely important if you want to be able to progress forward in your life.

I’m grateful for the lessons that I have had the opportunity to learn and the birthdays that I’ve been able to celebrate with loved ones over the years.

Each year is a new beginning, each day is even a new beginning. And, no matter what happens, we can always create new memories.

Thanks for reading,

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information, leave a comment on this post, or reach out to me on Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

I recently became a mentor for Promo Mentors every Tuesday at 11am EST if anyone needs some posts checked out! I really enjoy the community and how helpful everyone is :)

Sort:  

I knew you barely 24 hours ago and your selflessness has melted my heart. I pray you to find more happiness and fulfilment this new year. We love you. Happy birthday.

You are so sweet! Thank you! That is so nice of you to say.
Ivy

Your balance is below $0.028. @dustsweeper is now disabled for your account until you transfer new funds. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

HAPPY BIRTHDAY!
I love those minions birthday cupcakes. omg, sooo adorable!

I can relate to your post in so many ways. One of the many mantras I often repeat is "The only person you can change is yourself."

My friend made the cupcakes and I literally shrieked when I saw them because I was so excited! That graphic is so cute! Thanks so much <3
Ivy

Happiest birthday! Thanks for sharing with us what you have learned. I like minions too!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Aww thanks! Minions are awesome!
Ivy

Happy birthday!
Those cupcakes look delicious! And ready to serve a villainous overlord!

Hehehe definitely ready to serve a villainous overlord! Thanks for the birthday wishes, it was a good day :)
Ivy

Happy birthday to you @socent, thanks for your help thus far. Happiness will find you in all areas of your life, that's my birthday wish for you.

Aww I really appreciate that, thank you. And you are welcome for the help. I'm happy to help :)
Ivy

Happy Belated Birthday!!! My girlfriend's kindergarten class would love those cupcakes lol. I hope you had an amazing day.

Aww thanks! Those cupcakes were incredible! My friend made them and she is so talented. Banana cake with vanilla cream cheese frosting. That's so sweet that she teaches kindergarten... I just love that age for kids because they are learning so much about life then. I had a great birthday. Thanks so much!
Ivy

Congratulations @socent! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @socent How to be the member of @helpie discord?

Send me a message on Discord @socent#3214
Ivy

Happy belated birthday 🐀🐀🐀🐀♥️♥️♥️

Thank you! It was a great day! I love the ratty emojis hehe <3 <3 <3
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54451.29
ETH 2281.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33