You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: This Will Go On His (My Five Year Old) Permanent Record

in #ulog5 years ago

That is so absurd. We had a school that would call us within the hour if our daughter was absent. They would want us to take the child in to be sent home by the nurse, or to take the child to the doctor to get an excuse. If we told them we were keeping the child home because of a fever, they'd question our qualification to make the assessment.

Here in Texas, I don't know how it works in California, schools are compensated by the state based on attendance. So, I know they were trying to keep the cash flowing in by providing a paper trail. But, we weren't paying $40 for a doctor visit to make the school happy.

Nobody has brought up the "permanent record" of any of our kids. I'm 45 now. My permanent record has never been requested.

Sort:  

Schools do get an income based on attendance, but, it is not daily attendance. Either the kid is deemed as a student of that school or they are not. If a kid is absent 10% of the time, it does not take 10% of the income away.

Something I learned while working as a teacher was that if a child is seen on campus, it counts towards their attendance. They used to have "runners" which were school officials who would "catch" kids who were ditching, and run them to the other side of the school, doing that would make the kids run through campus, and then their attendance would be counted.

That was when I lost respect for the whole attendance thing. I will make sure my children are there enough so the school can get the compensation they need for teaching my children, but I am not bringing an unwell child to school.

Thank you for commenting, I appreciate knowing that this happens in Texas and that the crazies go beyond California.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68062.15
ETH 2637.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70