You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #ULOG 04 THE POWER OF CONNECTION AND NEPOTISM. Entry into COM round 19

in #ulog6 years ago

It is a tough gig determining the winner of this contest, as I discovered when guest judging a while ago. But seriously, you need to take a hard look at the winners across the history of this competition. The only time I’ve won Jester, I also got @curie’d - we’ve actually had quite a few good entries get that upvote. That’s the level of quality that you need to aim for to have a shot at winning the crown.

I think I’m a pretty decent writer. I’ve written for news sites, wrote an 80,000 word PhD thesis, and been published in a peer reviewed journal that rejects over 80% of submissions. I think that creating really good comedy is, in its own way, as hard as any of those things, possibly harder.

From one writer to another, here’s some free advice: Keep practising, and you’ll improve, but only if you have the courage to look at the weaknesses of your own work.

Sort:  

I dont really see curie upvote as proof of great job. Writing is not really what i do. I mainly draw but i dont feel less good because they haven't curied me. I just feel like there are thousands of authors with quality posts to be helped on steemit and they just can't help everybody. So if you need to have a quality post and you also need to be LUCKY for them to come your way... Or maybe you know somebody in curie...

Lol, I have no idea who nominated me for any of my curies. But I would concede that there is a large element of luck, and that there are a lot of good writers and creators who deserve more regonition than they are getting.

Look, I can only speak for my experience of winning jester (and failing to win it numerous times), and of being a guest judge myself in round 11. Winning is hard, or it was for me at least. And when I was judging, and all the time I’ve been associated with @comedyopenmic, I’ve never seen any evidence of any dishonesty or favouritism. I have a deplorably overdeveloped sense of right and wrong, and would not be part of that community if I thought it was just people awarding prizes to their friends.

Also, for what it’s worth I completely admit that my first comment here probably wasn’t the best response. I do hope you take up the offer of guest judging. It’s challenging but it’s fun, and there are plenty of people in the community who will help you out if you need it (me included).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64970.70
ETH 3238.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64